Were the New York Yankees one of the 16 original teams?

In 1901 8 teams of the American League, joined the National League to form Major League Baseball. The Yankees franchise was part of the origianl 8 teams of the American League but at the time they were the Baltimore Orioles. In 1903 the team was moved to New York, and named the Highlanders. The New York Highlanders changed the name to Yankees in 1913.