Law & Legal Issues
US Constitution
US Government

What are judicial districts?

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2006-12-20 00:29:52

It generally refers to the areas in which a specific court has jurisdiction, sometimes pertaining to geographical (territorial) location and/or legal jurisdiction. The jurisdiction of every court is determined by the statute or constitution that created the court. Jurisdiction can be federal or state or a choice between the two, depending upon the legal issues involved.

User Avatar

Your Answer

Still Have Questions?

Related Questions

What is the number of judicial districts in Nevada?

Nevada is divided into nine judicial districts.

How many judicial districts in Illinois?

There are five appealate districts in Illinois.

How many federal judicial districts are in the US?

There are a total of 89 federal judicial districts in the 50 states, or 94 if you count the 5 additional districts in US territories.

How many judicial districts are there in Kentucky?

There are 57 judicial circuits in Kentucky.

How many judicial districts are in Pennsylvania?


How many judicial districts are there in Illinois?

there are currently ninty two

How many federal judicial circuit court districts are there?


What are common functions of a county?

Mainly, to function as judicial districts.

How many judicial districts are in the United States of America today?


What is the number of Federal judicial districts for the US District Courts?


On what basis is the US divided into judicial districs?

it is divided into districts depending on how much judicial business takes place there Save

What is the executive branch length of term and term limits and duties?

The Judicial Districts.

What is the number of federal judicial districts fot the US district courts?

a number

What is on the first judicial district of pennsylvania's tipstaff general test?

number of districts

How many districts does West Virginia have?

3 congressional districts if that's what you mean or 2 federal judicial districts or 58 house of delegates districts or 17 state senate districts or 55 school districts & there may well be other sorts i just havent thought of yet but there you have at least 135 if you don't care what kind

How many geographic judicial circuits does the US have?

The United States has 13 judicial circuits, each with a court of appeals. There are 89 districts, with a district court each.

How many Federal Judicial Districts are there?

There are 94 Federal Judicial Districts. This includes at least one district in each state as well as in the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. The Virgin Islands, Guam, and the Northern Mariana Islands, all of which are United States Territories, each have a district in them as well.

What does voting have to do with the judicial branch?

In many districts judges are elected officials, so they are dependent upon the voting public.

How many US district court have been created?

The 12 regional circuits, are organized into 94 U.S. judicial districts.

What building houses the Judicial Branch?

The Judicial Branch is not housed in a single building, but spread out in regions (Districts and Circuits) across the United States and its territories. The Supreme Court of the United States, head of the Judicial Branch, is in the Supreme Court Building in Washington, DC.

Which counties in Alaska are dry counties?

There are no counties in Alaska we have Judicial Districts. Some villages have voted themselves dry and some are damp.

Has any US State outlawed gerrymandering?

No. Some have just found more effective ways to limit its application (such as judicial setting of the borders between districts as opposed to the state legislatures setting the borders between districts).

There are currently how many district courts?

There are 89 districts in the 50 states, District courts also exist in Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, the District of Columbia, Guam, and the Northern Mariana Islands. In total there are 94 U.S. district courts. Some states, such as Alaska, are composed of a single judicial district. Others, such as California, are composed of multiple judicial districts.

How many Judicial Districts are there?

There are 94 districts within twelve regional Circuits* in the federal Judicial Branch. Ninety are within the United States, proper (including the District of Columbia); the other four are in Puerto Rico and the US Territories of Guam, the Virgin Islands, and the Northern Marianna Islands.* There are thirteen Circuits, total; twelve are territorial, one has national jurisdiction over special subject matter cases.

What did the Judiciary Act of 1789 provide for?

It set up the Federal Court system. Divided the Country into Judicial Districts, provided for the number of judges and the internal procedures of how the courts were to operate.

Still have questions?