What are sacraments?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2008-12-03 23:01:47
2008-12-03 23:01:47

What do the sacraments mean?" It's a simple question that can't be answered simply. That's partly because of the number of sacraments. There are seven religious rituals or church ceremonies that Catholics call sacraments. Then there are other lesser rituals and practices (like blessing ourselves with holy water or praying the rosary) called sacramentals. Is there a single meaning that can embrace all the sacraments? Sacraments are rituals that are highly symbolic. That's another reason why it's not easy to specify exactly what each or all of the sacraments mean. Unlike traffic signs or signs in a store, symbols can mean more than one thing at the same time: They can mean different things to different people (think of a cross, a six-pointed star or a crescent), and they can have different levels of meaning. For example, think of the many levels of meaning-personal, family, civil, religious-connected with a wedding. Ceremonies that are rich in symbolism can mean many things at once.


Related Questions

The three elements of the sacraments are:Sacraments of InitiationSacraments of HealingSacraments at the service of communion

Judaism doesn't have the concept of sacraments.

there is seven sacraments

No, sacraments are a part of various sects of Christianity and Hinduism. Judaism does not have sacraments.

All sacraments can affect your life but an individual can reach 6 sacraments.

The sacraments of initiation are Baptism, Holy Eucharist, and Confirmation. The sacraments of service are Holy Orders and Matrimony. The sacraments of healing are Reconciliation and Extreme Unction.

There are three classifications of sacraments: initiation, healing, and vocation. The sacraments of initiation are Baptism, Confirmation, and Holy Eucharist. The sacraments of healing are Reconciliation and Anointing of the Sick. The sacraments of vocation are Holy Orders and Holy Matrimony.

The Sacraments of Service are: Holy Orders and Matrimony

Baptism, Confirmation & the Holy Eucharist

The optional sacraments are Marriage, Ordination, and Unction.

The Sacraments are a Gift to us from Christ.

the 7 sacraments was created because GOD was testing Moses if he was able to tell everyone about these 7 sacraments so god made these silly sacraments and it became holy.

Judaism doesn't have any sacraments or a "church-like" structure.

Catholic & Orthodox follow the 7 Sacraments (though in Catholicism a person may only take at the most, 6 Sacraments). Protestants do not have all 7 Sacraments.

They are called Sacraments of Initiation as the rest or our Christian lives depend on them. The Sacraments of Initiation are Baptism, Confirmation and Eucharist.

Matrimony and Holy orders are the Sacraments of Service.

Jews do not have sacraments; Jews have mitzvot/commandments.

Marriage and Holy Orders are both sacraments of vocation.

No, the sacraments were initiated by Jesus Christ.

Baptism and communion are the only two sacraments .

There are only 7 sacraments in total and two of those are sacraments of healing - Reconciliation and Anointing of the Sick.

That is the correct spelling of the plural noun "sacraments" (Christian rites).

The sacraments of healing are Reconciliation and Anointing of the Sick.

The time for celebrating the Sacraments of Initiation is Easter.

Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.