What are some facts about Wyoming?

Wyoming is known as the Equality State because it was the first state to give women the right to vote and hold public office.

Wyoming is home to the first US National Park: Yellowstone National Park.

Wyoming is the least populous US state.

Wyoming is the tenth largest US state by area.

The capital city of Wyoming is Cheyenne. Cheyenne is also the county seat of Laramie County. Cheyenne was the capital of the Wyoming Territory.

The name Wyoming derives from the Munsee name xwé:wamənk, meaning "at the big river flat", but also named after the Wyoming Valley in Pennsylvania, made famous by the 1809 poem Gertrude of Wyoming by Thomas Campbell.[

The United States admitted Wyoming into the Union as the 44th state on July 10, 1890.

Wyoming has 23 counties.

Wyoming is the number one producer of coal in the US. It is ranked 2nd for production of natural gas and 5th in petroleum.

Wyoming's Wind River Indian Reservation is shared by two Native American tribes: the Eastern Shoshone and the Northern Arapahoe.