Asked in
Religion & Spirituality
Quran (Koran)
Faith Hill

What are the 5 pillars of faith?


User Avatar
Wiki User
January 20, 2009 2:08PM

The Five Pillars of Islam are the basic beliefs by which Muslims live their lives. They are:

1: The Shahada or Declaration of Faith: "There is no God but God and Muhammad is God's Messenger."

2: Salat or the Recitation of prayers, five times daily in the direction of the Kabaa in Mecca.

3: Zakat or the payment of the poor tax.

4: Sawm or Fasting from Dawn until Dusk during the month of Ramadan.

5: The Hajj or Pilgrimage to Mecca.