Planetary Science
The Difference Between
The Solar System

What are the differences between the two types of planets in the solar system?

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2013-05-13 11:04:53

There are the gas giant planets (Jovian planets) and the rocky planets (Terrestrial planets).

Terrestrial planets comprise Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars.

They are mainly composed with solid rocks.

They have little or no atmosphere.

They are found close to the Sun in the warmer region of the Solar System.

They are relatively small in size.

They have few or no moons.

They do not have ring systems (like Saturn).

Jovian planets comprise Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune.

They are composed of thick gaseous atmospheres with liquid interiors. Nothing can land on them.

They have thick atmospheres.

They are found far from the Sun in the colder region of the Solar System.

They are very large in size.

They have many moons.

They do possess ring systems.

Minor comment: It's nice to see "comprise" used properly.

User Avatar

Your Answer

Related Questions

A solar system consists of one or two stars and one or more planets. A galaxy consists of numerous stars/solar systems.

Comets are small solar system bodies that orbit around the Sun. They are not planets because NASA said so.

The first eight planets in the solar system, counting from the sun are the following: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars. These are called the "Inner planets". Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptunus. These are called the "Outer planets". The asteroid belt between Mars and Jupiter forms the boundary between the inner solar system and the outer solar system. These 8 planets are the only planets known in our solar system.

Planets can have atmospheres (although not all planets do) but the solar system does not. Space between planets is a vacuum.

Extra solar (or Exo) planets are planets that do not orbit the Sun. Planets in our solar system orbit the Sun.

There are planets not in our solar system...but in other solar systems

Extra solar planets are planets that is outside of our solar system.

There are eight planets and five dwarf planets in our solar system.

they are 9 planets in the solar system

Planets in the solar system orbit the sun :)

There are 5 rocky planets in our solar system if you count Pluto. If not, there are 4 rocky planets in the solar system.

The solar system is not crowded. There is a huge amount of empty space between planets.

Planets that are not part of our solar system and in other solace systems are called exo-solar planets or exoplanets.

Yes, there are planets outside our solar system.

there are four gaseous planets in our Solar System

There are 8 planets in the solar system

eight planets in the solar system

There are 9 Planets near are Solar System.

Because we only know the names of the planets in our Solar System, the right question could have been "What are the planets in our solar system?" which is of course very elementary. Some people can sometimes get confused between solar system and galaxy

The asteroid belt is generally regarded as the boundary between the inner solar system and the outer solar system.

None of the planets pass out of our solar system. The orbits of the planets, irregular as they may be IS the solar system.

Yes because Pluto is no longer in our solar system and the planets after Pluto are not in our solar system

The planets are part of the makup of the solar system. I guess you could say the sun provides light for the planets and gravety that holds them to the solar system.

The inner system refers to all planets in our solar system between the sun and the asteroid. The planets are in this order mercury, venus, earth, and mars. The outer solar system is the planets after the asteroid belt like Jupiter, Saturn, uranus, neptune, and Pluto.

Copyright ยฉ 2021 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.