Asked in
Old Testament

What are the first five books of the bib le called?


User Avatar
Wiki User
May 16, 2012 8:24AM

The first five books of the Bible (Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy) are said to have been given to (or alternatively, dictated to) Moses by God Himself. As such they are often called the Five Books of Moses. In Judaism, they are called the Torah, which means "Instruction."