French Open
Australian Open

What are the four major professional tennis tournaments?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2009-12-30 18:56:23
2009-12-30 18:56:23

The four major professional tennis tournaments consist of the Australian Open, French Open, Wimbledon and the US Open. These four major tournaments are considered the "Grand Slam" tournaments.

The Australian Open is the first of the four to be played each year, with the event occurring in the second half of January.

The French Open is the second Grand Slam to be played, and it occurs around late-May to early June.

Wimbledon, the third Grand Slam of the year, takes place shortly after the French Open. It occurs from late June to early July.

The US Open is the fourth and final Grand Slam to take place each year. The only Grand Slam played on US soil, it takes place from late August to the first half of September.


Related Questions

Australian Open, French Open, Wimbledon, U.S. Open

The generic usage is "a year""There are four major tennis tournaments a year.

Four major tennis tournaments... the US open, the Austrailian open, the French open, and Wimbledon.

These four tournaments are also known as the grand slams. They are the:French open - Held in Roland Garros, France.The US open - Held in Flushing Meadows, NY, US.The Australian open - Australia, Melbourne.Wimbledon - Wimbledon, London, England.

1. Wimbledon 2. US Open 3. Australian Open 4. French Open

The four major tennis tournaments are played on different surfaces. The US Open is played on a Hard Court, French Open is on Clay, Wimbledon is played on grass, and the Australian Open is played also played on a hard court.

The four major tennis tournaments; the US Open, the Open Championships(wimbledon), Roland Garros (French Open), and the Australian Open are known as the Grand Slam of tennis. Hitting a grand slam in baseball scores four runs and is the greatest accomplishment a baseball player can achieve during one at bat. Likewise, winning the Grand Slam of tennis involves winning four tournaments and is considered the greatest accomplishment in tennis. Because "tournament which makes up part of the Grand Slam of tennis" is so long it is usually shortened to "Slam".

There are countless professional tennis tournaments each year. There is no one extremely important tournament. The four grand slams (US Open, French Open, Wimbledon, and the Australian Open) are the biggest tournaments in tennis each year. in 2012 Novak Djokovic won the Australian Open and the three others have not been played yet.

Paris, New York, London, and Melbourne, Australia

The four most important tennis tournaments of the world are called Grand Slam tournaments. They are: the Australian Open, the French Open, Wimbledon and the US Open. Any player who wins these four tournaments in a row is said to have won the Grand Slam.

In professional mens tennis only the four majors, or grand slams, are best of 5 sets. All of the other tournaments throughout the year are best 2 of 3 sets

A true Grand Slam in tennis is when a player wins all four Grand Slam tournaments in the same year. Otherwise it is just a career Grand Slam, and not a true Grand Slam.

Australian Open, French Open, Wimbledon and US Open.

The four grand slam tournaments are as follows: the Australian Open, the French Open, Wimbledon, and the U.S. Open.

The Masters, US Open, The Open and PGA Championship.

There are 4 big tournaments in tennis and a bunch of smaller ones. These tournaments are known as SLAMS (Australian Open, Rolland Garros, Wimbledon, US Open). If you win all of them in a calendar year, you have completed the GRANDSLAM. Just like baseball is four runs.

There are four Grand Slam tournaments (French Open, Australian Open, US Open and Wimbledon). Others include Indian Wells, Key Biscayne, ATP Masters, Cincinnati, Madrid, Miami, Monte Carlo, Paris, Rome, Shanghai, Toronto,

Before the advent of the open era of tennis competitions in April 1968, only amateurs were allowed to compete in established tournaments, including the four Grand Slams.

The most famous countries for tennis would, arguably, be the ones which host the four Grand Slam tournaments: Australia, France, Great Britain, and the U.S.A.

Nickname for every Major tournament. The title 'Grand Slam' in tennis once meant winning all 4 major tennis tournaments in one calender year. The four majors are The Australian Open, French Open, Wimbledon and The US Open. This has now been changed to holding all 4 titles at once, regardless of the order of winning them.

The PGA Championship is considered to be one of the four major tournaments in professional golf. One can find information concerning the championship on the US PGA official website.

The men's major championships are The Masters, The US Open, The Open and The USPGA Championship.

There are many, many tennis tournaments every year. There are four major tournaments - 3 of which (the Australian Open, French Open and Wimbledon) have a women's singles champion. The US Open is not held until August/September. Australian Open Women's Champion - Victoria Azarenka French Open Women's Champion - Maria Sharapova Wimbledon Women's Champion - Serena Williams

The Masters, The US Open, The British Open, and the PGA Championship.

Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.