Best Answer

To make the legal requirements for car insurance in California, you must be 18 years or older. You must also be financially responsible and provide proof of your financial responsibility. You must have a 35000 dollar cash deposit with the DMV, a DMV self-assurance certificate, a surety bond and a motor vehicle liability insurance policy.

User Avatar

Wiki User

2013-05-29 14:52:52
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides


20 cards

What group of Indians lived in the present day state of Maine

The Indian group which lived in the far north

This religion of Indian cultures means below arctic

What customs are in Bangladesh

See all cards
8 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What are the legal requirements for car insurance in California?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What are the steps to getting licensed as a car insurance agent and what are the requirements in California?

Any office of the California Department of Insurance can explain licensing requirements. They have an office in every county, look in the phone book under State of California.

Is it legal for a dealership to sell a car to someone with only a permit?

it is legal as long as they meet the financing requirements and insurance requirements of the financing. paying cash you bet.

Alternatives to car insurance in Indiana?

The requirements in Indiana are fairly strict. For the most part you're going to need full car insurance in order to stay legal.

What are the minimum insurance requirements on a newly financed car in California?

Full coverage plus waiver of depreciation

What are the legal requirements for coverage when buying car insurance in Atlanta?

The legal auto insurance coverage requirements for Atlanta are the same as all of Georgia. You will need $25k of bodily injury ($50k per occurrence) and $50k property damage.

What are the minimum car insurance requirements for California?

California law requires all drivers to have liability insurance that provides financial responsibility for any damage or injury cause by a traffic collision.

When can your car be repossessed in california?

In California your car can be taken 1 second after midnight the day after your payment is due. If you do not comply with one of the requirements of the loan, things like insurance and the like, the car can be taken with out notice.

Where can I get a car insurance quotes for California?

AMICO offers car insurance quotes for the California area.

What are the legal requirements of car insurance in the state of michigann?

Liability auto insurance is a requirement in order to drive in Michigan. The minimum limits are 20/40/10.

Is car insurance required for California residents?

Yes car insurance is in fact required in California. Before you decided to drive you car in California, please purchase some insurance.

Is Virginia car insurance cheaper than insurance in California?

Yes, Virginia car insurance is generally cheaper than insurance in California

Are there any special laws or requirements to get car insurance in Texas?

As far as I know, there are no special laws or requirements to get car insurance in Texas. I do know that you need to search about this, but to drive a car you must have insurance.

People also asked