What are the names of Australia's colonies?

Australia doesn't have any colonies.

The Commonwealth of Australia is made up of six states and two territories.


  • New South Wales
  • Victoria
  • South Australia
  • Tasmania
  • Queensland
  • Western Australia


  • Australian Capital Territory
  • Northern Territory

There are also seven external (offshore) territories, which include:

  • Norfolk Island
  • Christmas Island
  • Cocos (Keeling) Islands
  • Australian Antarctic Territory
  • Heard and McDonald Island
  • Ashmore and Cartier Islands
  • Coral Sea Islands