Countries, States, and Cities

What are the only continents totally north of the equator?

User Avatar
Wiki User
November 14, 2011 10:55PM

The only continents entirely north of the equator are Europe and

North America (depends though if you consider the americas as one

or two continents). South east asia (countries like Indonesia and

New Guinea) is south of the equator, the rest is north of it. That

makes Asia a continent which is on both hemispheres. Likewise this

applies to Africa, where the bigger part of the continent is north

of the equator; and as well to south america, where countries like

Venezuela and Guyana are north and the big rest south of the

equator. Australia is south of the equator, although there are a

few islands north of the equator, that are considered to belong to

the continent of Australia.

Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.