History of the United States

What are the orginal 13 colonies?


User Avatar
Wiki User

There were actually only English 12 colonies at the time of the American Declaration of Independence. From south to north, they were: Georgia, South Carolina, North Carolina, Virginia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New York, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, and New Hampshire. Delaware, which was the first state to ratify the Constitution, was not a separate colony but was actually a part of Pennsylvania known as the "three southern counties". During the Revolution, the three southern counties separated from both England and Pennsylvania, and became the state of Delaware. So, while there were 13 original states after the Revolution, there had only been 12 colonies before.