answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer
Copy

Were you in DEFAULT of the contract the car was collateral for? If so, not much to do about the repo except pay up. Obviously, the "not licensed" part didnt bother you when you bought the car. Call a local attorney for state specific advice.

In many states, notice of repossession is not required. The licensing of the seller is neither here nor there, because that does not affect the fact that you owe him a debt. There may be laws regarding your rights to reclaim the car after paying the back payments and costs of repossession.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2007-10-02 19:13:12
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +5 pts
Q: What can you do if you bought a car from a person who is not licensed to sell cars and he repossessed it without notice?
Write your answer...
Submit

Related Questions

Can you car be repossessed in Massachusetts without notice of default?

yess (don't know ) guess


Car was repossessed with no letter of intent sent no notice of actionwas law violated?

Your car can be repossessed at any time without any warning if you aren't making your payments. It is probably in your paperwork in the fine print what happens when you don't make your payment.


Does lender have to send notice of default or intention to repossessed before taking the merchandise?

Legally NO!


What type notice is required before a car can be repossessed?

In all but 10 states, NONE AT ALL.


Does the person holding the note have to provide written notice that the vehicle is to be repossessed in Texas?

A written note


What can you do if you have had your car repossessed before and you are currently paid up on your payments but one of the checks bounced?

Sit back and wait for NOI letter (Notice of Intent). * The majority of states do not require notice before a vehicle is repossessed. Contact the lender and explain the situation. And hope for a positive outcome.


How far behind do your car payments have to be before it can be repossessed in the state of Virginia?

In Virginia, the law states a lender must submit notice in writing at least 10 days before a car is to be repossessed. Therefore, car payments that are late can be subject to repossession at anytime, provided notice has been given.


How much time in the state of Kansas do you have once you receive notice that your car will be repossessed before the car is actually repossessed?

One Kansas attorney says 20 days and another says 10 days.


If you default on a car loan can a creditor take possession at any hour without notice to you?

Yes, they can. One of the stories I've heard was that a car was repossessed from a mall parking lot--full tank of gas and purchases inside.


In Illinois isn't it illegal if a car is repossessed with the plates still on it?

when they repossess your car it makes sense that you would get it in the mail with a notice.


Auto repossession laws in Nevada?

In the state of Nevada, if you do not make payments on a car you are buying, it can be repossessed with no notice given to you. Once repossessed, you will still be liable for all further payments even if the car is sold at auction to another buyer.


Can you be evicted in 24 hours without a evition notice?

if you have lease, you cannot be evicted without an eviction notice,or notice to quit. If you do not have a lease you will need to deal with legal authorities on this.


Sample letter for absent without notice?

Apology letter to boss for absent without notice & for not receiving cell phone


Can your employer dismiss you without giving you reasonable notice?

Yes, the employer can dismiss the employee without notice at certain cercumstaces. This can be for theft.


Does a creditor have to notify you if repossing a car?

In some states yes. In some state the lender is not required to give any notice at all before or after. In some states, the lender is only required to give you notice after the vehicle has been repossessed.


Do jellyfish attack humans?

Yes. Without notice and without warning.


Can a landlord change locks of commercial business owner without notice in Texas?

can a landlord change the locks on a commercial building without notice


Do you have an opportunity to make good on the payments and recover the vehicle in California once a car has been repossessed?

YES, you should get a notice from the lender outlining what ya need to do.


Can you get your car back if it is repossessed and they don't provide written notice of seizure in California?

If you weren't paying the bill and the courts awarded the vehicle to the lender, it's gone.


Does Virginia require a right to cure notice before a car an be repossessed?

DOES VA HAVE A RIGHT TO CURE. AND DON'T THE FINANCE COMPNAY HAVE TO HAVE A JUDGMENT BRFORE THEY CAN GARISH MY WAGES


Can a vehicle be repossed without notice?

They usually are.


When a car is repossessed in Minnesota what are the laws?

You will have to pay the balance due after the sale. A creditor who has a valid security interest in a vehicle may repossess the vehicle without notice to the debtor where the underlying debt, an installment contract, has been discharged in bankruptcy and the debtor has not reaffirmed the installment contract. O P I N I O N KLAPHAKE, Judge Rosalyn Rodgers appeals from summary judgment awarded to her creditor, respondent General Electric Capital Corporation (GE Capital), which repossessed a vehicle under the terms of a security agreement after Rodgers' discharge in bankruptcy. Rodgers claims that despite her bankruptcy discharge and her failure to reaffirm the installment contract post-bankruptcy, she was entitled to notice before the vehicle was repossessed. We disagree and affirm.


What does Without prejudice to Notice to Quit mean?

Without prejuedice means that the decision is not irrevocable. That, in this instance, at some time in future you may withdraw the notice to quit.


Can you throw your kid out of your house without notice?

yes you can


What is embargo dates?

Subject to change without notice.