History, Politics & Society
History of England
Roman Empire
UK History

What countries did the Hapsburg Empire rule?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2009-07-20 17:16:03

In the period 1866-1918 the Hapsburg Empire consisted of the whole of these countries: Austria, Hungary, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Croatia. It also included substantial areas of what is now Romania, Poland, Ukraine. It also included small areas of what is now Italy and Serbia. From 1878-1918 it included Bosnia-Herzegovina.

The Hapsburg Empire held, at one point or another, the thrones of the Archduchies of Upper and Lower Austria, the Duchies of Styria, Carinthia, Carniola, Serbia, Milan, Parma and Bukovina, the County of Tyrol, the Grand Duchy of Salzburg, the Kingdoms of Bohemia (including the 'Lands of the Bohemian Crown), Hungary, Naples, Sardinia, Sicily, Galicia & Lodomeria, Dalmatia, Lombardy-Venitia, the Banat of Temeswar, the Vogvodina of Serbia & Tamis Banat and the Grand Principality of Transylvania along with the Adriatic Port of Trieste and the territories of Istria, Gorizia, Gradisca, the Vorarlberg, the Vorlande, the Austrian Netherlands, Oltenia (also known as Grand-Voivodate or Valachia Ceasarea), new Galica (including, after it's incorporation, Krakow), Venetia, the Raska Region and Bosnia and Herzegovina. Various members of the dynasty also ruled Spain (Castille & Aragon and their territories), Tuscany, Wurzburg, Vorlande, Modena, the Duchy of Parma and the Second Mexican Empire. Napoleon I of France and Peter I of Brazil were married to members of the Hapsburg dynasty whilst on the throne.


Your Answer

Related Questions

No, the Hapsburg did not rule Russia. They ruled the Austro-Hungarian Empire and they were the Holy Roman Emperors.

The Hapsburg dynasty ruled the Holy Roman Empire between 1438 and 1740. It also produced kings of several other countries.

They Hapsburg Monarchy is an empire and not a dynasty. They were a part of the Holy Roman Empire from 1526 until 1804.

In order to strengthen the Hapsburg empire, Maria Theresa recognized the bureaucracy and improved tax collection.

The countries that were part of the French Empire included The Americas, Africa and Asia. The French Empire were the territories outside of Europe, but were under the French rule.

The Hapsburgs' hereditary lands were centered in Austria. The House of Hapsburg was also known as the House of Austria.

The Hapsburg Dynasty ruled the Austro-Hungarian Empire. Literally, the correct answer is "Austro-Hungarian Empire", but this country no longer exists, in 1919 the monarchy was abolished and the country split up, and parts have changed country many times since.The territory which was the Empire in 1919 now is the following countries:* Austria* Bosnia* Croatia* Czech Republic* Hungary* Slovakia* SloveniaPlus parts of the following countries:* Italy (north-east part, Alps and Trieste area)* Poland (Southern part)* Romania (the area called Transylvania)* Northern Serbia* Western UkraineMost of the above countries did not exist in 1919, so you cannot say the Hapsburg ruled them.In previous centuries the Hapsburg also ruled territory further west, including what are now parts of Switzerland and Germany, Alsace (now part of France) and most of what is now Belgium.

Parts of Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India and Pakistan

No. The Roman Empire rule quite a bit of Europe though. The Roman Empire ruled the countries of Modern day France, Spain, Portugal, Italy, and Belgium. Some of the countries like Germany, Netherlands, Poland all resisted Roman rule, but they did, however, pick up some Roman influences, such as their style of government.

Napoleon was ruler of the French Empire.

At its height, the British Empire controlled 25% of the world's land surface - over 50 countries worldwide.

One of the main reasons for the weakening of the Hapsburg Empire was the rise of nationalism in the peoples that made up the empire. The empire contained several ethnic groups each with their own culture and goals. The inability of the central government to get the various groups to think of themselves as a single nation ultimately led to the empires demise

the purpose was so that they could rule the other countries and use them to make their profit.

: a) the growth of socialism ...... b) liberal reformers.....c) German aggression... the Pan-Slavic movement......a decline of the fine arts

There never existed any guarantee that Hapburg lands would or could not be divided. On the contrary, the Hapsburg lands were in 1521 divided by treaty between Charles V and his brother Ferdinand in a "Austrian" and a "Spanish" empire. After that, the two empires never were divided further, just as most other countries in Europe.

The rise of nationalism in the Empire eventually caused the break-down of the Ottoman millet (confessional community) concept.

Diocletian divided the empire in order to make it easier to rule.Diocletian divided the empire in order to make it easier to rule.Diocletian divided the empire in order to make it easier to rule.Diocletian divided the empire in order to make it easier to rule.Diocletian divided the empire in order to make it easier to rule.Diocletian divided the empire in order to make it easier to rule.Diocletian divided the empire in order to make it easier to rule.Diocletian divided the empire in order to make it easier to rule.Diocletian divided the empire in order to make it easier to rule.

ANSWER When the Emperor Charles V of Hapsburg became also King Charles I of Spain in 1516

The Hapsburg Empire was divided because of inheritance issues. King Carlos left half of his territory to his eldest son Felipe. In 1555 he made Felipe ruler of the Netherlands. Carlos’s daughter Maria married Emperor Ferdinand I’s son Maximilian.

She ruled many countries: Croatia, Dalmatia, Bohemia and Hungary. She was also the de facto ruler of the Holy Roman Empire.

== == A conquered land of many people and places governed by one rule.Empire is a large group, states or countries. The group is under one supreme authority.

A group of lands under one rule are called an empire. Empires are groups of countries that are controlled by one government.

Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.