Asked in
Countries, States, and Cities
New Zealand

What country southeast of Australia is made up of two main islands?


User Avatar
Wiki User
May 19, 2015 8:34AM

New Zealand is an island country 2,000km, or 1,250 miles, south-east of Australia, in the Pacific Ocean. Two large islands, called the North Island and South Island, make up most of the country, which also includes numerous smaller islands, including the more substantial Stewart Island to the south.

It is to be noted that New Zealand is not part of Australia, despite its relative proximity.