answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If the state you live in has an emancipation statute, you have to meet those requirements. Typically they include being able to take care of yourself financially and physically and have parental permission.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2007-06-27 11:06:51
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What do you do when filing emancipation?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Does emancipation cost?

The first question is whether or not emancipation is even available in your jurisdiction. There are costs involved in emancipation. There are court filing fees and an attorney may need to be involved.


What is the emancipation age for Virginia?

The minimum age for filing a petition for emancipation rights of a minor is 16-years. The legal age of majority for the State of Virginia is 18.


What is the cost for a emancipation?

That will vary according to the specific state laws. Most have a filing fee that is about $100.


Must a minor live with his parent after filing for emancipation in Texas?

Yes you still have to follow their rules until you are emancipated.


Can a 15-year-old move in with another adult without parental permission in Georgia?

petition the court for emancipation No, the age of legal majority in Georgia is eighteen, the minimum age for filing a petition for emancipation rights is sixteen.


How old do you have to be to get emancipated in New Mexico?

The minimum age for filing an emancipation petition is sixteen. NMRS: Chapter 32A, Article 31.


What is the procedure for a 17-year-old with parental permission to be emancipated in Florida?

Florida Law, Title XLIII, Domestic Relations, Chapter 743, Disability of Non Age of Minor's Removal. Contact the office of the clerk of the circuit court in the city or county of residence for information on the filing procedures of a petition of emancipation. Filing fees approximately $200. Please be advised that the filing of such a petition in no way guarantees that the court will grant the minor a full emancipation decree.


In Florida how much does it cost to get emancipated and how long does it take?

Every county in every state charges different amounts for filing fees when a minor files for emancipation. You will only have to pay the filing fees and court costs if you do not use an attorney.


What can you do if your mom fights the emancipation?

In that type of court hearing the judge would decide what affect a parent contesting the emancipation of the minor would have upon the case. In many of the states that allow early emancipation, the minor must have parental permission before filing or hearing the petition, therefore depending on the state where you reside, the issue might not be relevant.


What do you need to do in order to get emancipated in Washington?

One of the requirements for a minor being eligible for emancipation is that they are capable of handling their personal affairs without the need of adult intervention. Therefore it is in the best interest of the minor to do the research and gather the necessary documentation for filing an emancipation petition. Emancipation procedures, Washington State Revised Code, RCW 13.64


How do you go about filing for emancipation in the UK and what does it entail?

There is no such thing in UK. If you are 16 you can move out. If you are younger than tha tyou are taken into care of Social Services.


Which would be better you becoming a legal guardian of a 17 yr old or him filing emancipation papers?

It depends how much money you want to spend. Emancipation is a long drawn out legal process that requires court fees and appearances. Legal guardianship is similar but not as intensive.


Do you have to go to a juvenile court for emancipation?

In most jurisdictions you have to appear before a judge. The type of judge will depend on the state law. Check your state for the requirements for filing.


How do you get emancipated without your parents' consent?

States that have grounds and procedures pertaining to the emancipation of a minor, do not always require parental consent or involvement. The universal factors are, the parents must be notified of the emancipation filing so they may have the opportunity to contest it, and the minor must be at least 16-years-old. Contact the circuit clerk's office in the county where you reside to find out if emancipation is allowed in the state where you live.


What are the laws on emancipation in Victoria Australia for 15 or 16 year olds?

Well, for starters, a 16 year old is not legally able to enter a legal bunding contract for a house, which means your unable to live by yourself. You need proof of neglect, to show the court your reason for filing an emancipation, or, your parents give concent. You have to support yourself with your own money, and parents are not legally obliged to pay for anything. Basically an Emancipation is where you are "divorcing" your parents. Well, for starters, a 16 year old is not legally able to enter a legal bunding contract for a house, which means your unable to live by yourself. You need proof of neglect, to show the court your reason for filing an emancipation, or, your parents give concent. You have to support yourself with your own money, and parents are not legally obliged to pay for anything. Basically an Emancipation is where you are "divorcing" your parents. Well, for starters, a 16 year old is not legally able to enter a legal bunding contract for a house, which means your unable to live by yourself. You need proof of neglect, to show the court your reason for filing an emancipation, or, your parents give concent. You have to support yourself with your own money, and parents are not legally obliged to pay for anything. Basically an Emancipation is where you are "divorcing" your parents. Well, for starters, a 16 year old is not legally able to enter a legal bunding contract for a house, which means your unable to live by yourself. You need proof of neglect, to show the court your reason for filing an emancipation, or, your parents give concent. You have to support yourself with your own money, and parents are not legally obliged to pay for anything. Basically an Emancipation is where you are "divorcing" your parents.


How old do you have to be to get emancipated?

In the few states that have grounds and procedures for emancipation of minors (sometimes referred to as the "Removal of Disability of Non-Age") the minimum age for filing a petition is 16-years.


What are the legal rights for a 17-year-old to move out of the house in Arizona?

The only exception would be if the person would marry, which would require parental permission. Arizona as most states does not have legislation on emancipation status. This would not exclude a minor from filing for emancipation, cases are ajudicated on an individual basis.


What are the procedures for emancipation in North Carolina?

Every state doesnt recognize emacipation of minors you have to check your state's law books to find out if any state including North Carolina recognizes emancipation of minors. * Minors residing in states that allow emancipation are required to undertake the action themselves. This means filing the emancipation petition with accompanying documentation and paying all court costs and attributed fees. North Carolina Civil Statutes Chapter 7B, Section 4, Article 35.


Can a 15-year-old girl become emancipated and or move out of her home in the State of New York?

No, the minimum age for filing an emancipation petition is 16, the legal age of majority is 18.


Can you get emancipated in Louisiana at 16?

You cannot, a minor must be at least 16-years of age to be eligible for filing a petition within the circuit court requesting "removal of disability of age", (emancipation).


At what age can a child be emancipated in Wisconsin?

The age of majority is 18. The state does not have early emancipation status. This means a minor may petition the court for emancipation, and cases are adjudicated on an individual basis. To obtain more information on how a filing is done and the requirements, the minor can contact the clerk or administrator of the family court in their city or county.


Is there anything that you have to show the judge when you are going to be emancipated like proof?

Absolutely. In the few states that allow emancipation of minors, the minor must be at least 16-years of age and have verifiable proof of sufficient independent income to support themselves. The minor must prove to the court that they can pay for housing, food, clothing, medical care, transportation and educational expenses as required by the state compulsory education laws. The minor must also file the petition themselves and pay for all filing fees and court costs. The average costs of filing an emancipation petition is between $200 and $300. It is a fallacy that every minor is entitled to emancipation rights. The reality is, emancipation decrees are rarely granted. In addition any such granting of a decree can be rescinded by the issuing court at the court's discretion.


What does it require to get emancipated in Michigan?

The laws governing emancipation are found in the Michigan Civil Code, MCL 722.1 through 722.6 and addendum MCR 3.1613. One of the requirements of emancipation is that said minor be able to manage their personal affairs including those pertaining to legal procedures; researching the emancipation laws is a first step in that direction. A minor must be at least 16-years of age and must be personally responsible for all court fees and any applicable legal costs. The cost of filing an emancipation petition in the state of Michigan is $150.00


What did the emancipation?

There are many things that an emancipation could be referring to. The emancipation could be referring to the Emancipation Proclamation.


Do you need your parent's signature for emancipation?

In most jurisdictions you have to show that they have been notified. Some require you to have their permission, others just notified before you appear before a judge. Check your state for the requirements for filing.