answersLogoWhite

0

  • Emancipation and Ages for Moving Out
  • Salary and Pay Rates
  • Michigan

What do you have to do to get emancipated living in Michigan?

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2007-01-30 02:36:17

Best Answer
Copy

722.4 Emancipation by operation of law or pursuant to petition filed by minor with family division of circuit court. Sec. 4. (1) Emancipation may occur by operation of law or pursuant to a petition filed by a minor with the family division of circuit court as provided in this act. (2) An emancipation occurs by operation of law under any of the following circumstances: (a) When a minor is validly married. (b) When a person reaches the age of 18 years. (c) During the period when the minor is on active duty with the armed forces of the United States. (d) For the purposes of consenting to routine, nonsurgical medical care or emergency medical treatment to a minor, when the minor is in the custody of a law enforcement agency and the minor's parent or guardian cannot be promptly located. The minor or the minor's parent shall remain responsible for the cost of any medical care or treatment rendered pursuant to this subdivision. An emancipation pursuant to this subdivision shall end upon the termination of medical care or treatment or upon the minor's release from custody, whichever occurs first. (e) For the purposes of consenting to his or her own preventive health care or medical care including surgery, dental care, or mental health care, except vasectomies or any procedure related to reproduction, during the period when the minor is a prisoner committed to the jurisdiction of the department of corrections and is housed in a state correctional facility operated by the department of corrections or in a youth correctional facility operated by the department of corrections or a private vendor under section 20g of 1953 PA 232, MCL 791.220g; or the period when the minor is a probationer residing in a special alternative incarceration unit established under the special alternative incarceration act, 1988 PA 287, MCL 798.11 to 798.18. This subdivision applies only if a parent or guardian of the minor cannot promptly be located by the department of corrections or, in the case of a youth correctional facility operated by a private vendor, by the responsible official of the youth correctional facility. (3) An emancipation occurs by court order pursuant to a petition filed by a minor with the family division of circuit court as provided in sections 4a to 4e.

2007-01-30 02:36:17
This answer is:
πŸ€“
🀯
πŸ€”
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +5 pts
Q: What do you have to do to get emancipated living in Michigan?
Write your answer...
Submit

Related Questions

Can a 15 year old be emancipated in the state of Michigan?

No, a 15 year old cannot be emancipated in Michigan. You must be at least 16.


In Michigan at what age does a minor have a say in living at home or with a relative?

In Michigan, a minor must live with their parents or guardians until they are 18 years of age. A minor can always hire an attorney and try to get emancipated.


How old do you have to be in the state of Michigan to be emancipated?

In Michigan you have to be at least 16 in order to file a petition for emancipation.


Can you get an apartment at age 16 in Michigan?

If you are emancipated, yes. Other than that, no.


Can you leave your home freely if your 17 in Michigan?

If you are an emancipated minor, yes. Otherwise, no.


What legal age can a child move out without parental consent to Texas from Michigan?

generally people move out at 18, but with parental permission or if you are emancipated you can when you are 17 (you can emancipated if your parents are failing to provide you with support). If you are not emancipated then you cant move out at 17. Living on your own is a lot harder then you think and should be thought about before moving out unless parents are not providing support.


Can a 16-year-old move out in Michigan?

They can if they have been emancipated. Michigan does allow a 16-year-old to petition the court for emancipation. But be aware that Michigan


How can a minor get married with out parental consent in Michigan?

By growing up and not be a minor anymore. Or get emancipated.


Can a 16 year old emancipated in MI without parental consent?

A 16 year old can get emancipated in Michigan. Parental consent is not required, but the judge may factor it in.


How can a fifteen year old in the state of Michigan get emancipated if she has permission from her mom?

She cannot. The minor must be at least 16 to petition for emancipation in the state of Michigan.


Can a 15 year old move out of home in Michigan?

Not without parental consent.Added: A child is not considered emancipated in Michigan until they are 18 years.


What document is often seen in conjunction with a living will?

emancipated minor


Does your parents have to sign you off for you to get emancipated?

Depends on the state your living in.


Is a pregnant minor considered emancipated in the state of Michigan?

No, your ability to get pregnant does not make you a legal adult.


Can a 16 year old girl move out of their home in Michigan?

Not unless you have parental consent or is emancipated.


How does a 16-year-old female get emancipated in Michigan?

Michigan Revised Statutes, Chapter 722, Section: 4 Part of the requirement of becoming emancipated is that the minor be competent to handle all of their personal affairs without the assistance of any adult.


Can an emancipated teenager living other adults get child support?

In general, emancipated children are not eligible for child support - they are considered adults.


Can a child be 20 years old going to collage living with a parent and not be emancipated?

You became emancipated naturally when you turned 18 so no.


How do the majority of people living in Michigan earn a living?

The majority of people living in Michigan earn their living from the land. This might include farming or fishing careers.


Are you legally emancipated once you have a child at the age of 16 in the state of Michigan?

No. Becoming a parent does not emancipate a minor.


Could a 16 year live with another family without parental consent in Michigan?

Not unless you get emancipated,


Is a pregnant minor considered emancipated in Michigan?

Being pregnant will not make you an adult. They are still the parent's responsibility.


Can you move out at 16 without being emancipated in Michigan?

Unless you have your parents permission you have to wait until you are 18.


How do people in Michigan make a living?

people in Michigan make a living by getting a job and buy thing that they need


Is a 17 year old in Michigan allowed to legally live on their own without having to be emancipated?

No. If your parents allow it, you can move in with another person. You cannot own property without being emancipated.