answersLogoWhite

0

  • Baseball
  • Softball
  • Baseball Rules and Regulations

What game was lost because the runner did not step on first base?

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2012-03-14 16:27:03

Best Answer
Copy

You may be referring to "Merkle's Boner" in which he did not step on second base but ran off the field to avoid a mob but was later called out.

In September 1908, the Cubs were at the Giants. With a 1-1 score in the bottom of the 9th, the Giants had runners on first and third with 2 outs. The runner on first base was Fred Merkle, a 19-year old rookie. The guy at the plate lined a single into the outfield; the runner on third came home, apparently getting the win for the Giants. The fans swarmed the field...Merkle saw his teammate touch home and figured the game was over so he hustled off the field to avoid the mob. But since there were 2 outs, a forceout at second base ends the inning and the run does not count, even if it crosses before the forceout is made.

The Cub secondbaseman Johnny Evers ran to the outfield to get the ball and touch second. A fan allegedly picked it up and threw it as far away as he could to prevent it. Evers eventually did come up with a ball, showed it to the umpires and stepped on second base. The umpire called the out and since order couldn't be restored the game ended in a 1-1 tie.

Because of the tie the Giants and Cubs ended up tied for first place. The Giants lost the 1-game playoff and the Cubs went on to the World Series.

2012-03-14 16:27:03
This answer is:
πŸ€“
🀯
πŸ€”
User Avatar

Your Answer

Loading...

Related Questions

Can a runner slide for the first score of the game?

Yes, a runner may slide into any base at any time.


How do you score a runner missing first base?

When it is a home run that wins the game in the bottom half of the last inning. This is known as a walk-off home run. If the runner does not touch first base and the umpire sees this the runner is out.


Does a passed ball in baseball prevent a perfect game when the runner reaches first base?

Yes, it does. In order to be a perfect game, no opposing player can reach first base safely. It doesn't matter if it was by way of an error or a passed ball, the runner cannot reach first. Bottom line, 27 batters get up and all 27 batters must be retired. No exceptions.


Can a Pitcher still have a perfect game if someone on his team gives up an error but the pitcher himself does not allow anyone on base?

No. The definition of a perfect game is that no one reaches base in any way for the entire game, even if that runner is thrown out on the same play. If the second baseman makes an error and allows someone to reach first base, even if the runner tries for second base and gets thrown out, the perfect game is over. It becomes a no-hitter.


If a pinch runner comes into a game and steals a base Who gets the credit for the steal?

The pinch runner gets credit for the stolen base, and for any run he might score.


Is it a balk when the picture throws to first base without the first baseman in position i.e. straddling first base. During a recent game the ump ruled it a balk because 1st baseman was not in pos.?

Yes. If there is a runner at first base and the first baseman is not stationed at the base, should the pitcher throw the ball to the first baseman in a pickoff attempt there is no way the runner could be putout since the runner must be tagged to be putout on a pickoff attempt. There is no specific rule in the MLB rule book that covers calling a balk when a pitcher throws to first base in a pickoff attempt with the first baseman not stationed at the base. However ... Rule 8.02(c) states that a pitcher shall not "Intentionally delay the game by throwing the ball to players, other than the catcher, when the batter is in position, except in an attempt to retire a runner". The penalty for this is a warning for the first offense and ejection for any subsequent offense. And there is Rule 8.05(h) which states that a balk shall be called if "the pitcher unnecessarily delays the game". The pitcher attempted the pickoff, in all probability, not intentionally but due to miscommunication between him and the first baseman. Therefore, Rule 8.02(c) would not apply because the delay was not intentional but Rule 8.05(h) would apply because the delay was unnecessary.


If a batter gets hit and can not continue what happens then?

A pinch runner must be inserted for him at first base. Then, the batter that was hit cannot return, and the pinch runner must stay in the game (unless he's replaced by someone else, in which case the runner can't return).


What is a defensive indifference in baseball?

That is a term generally used when a base runner is stealing a base. The catcher will not attempt to make a play on the runner (throw the ball to the base that the runner is attempting to steal). Sometimes, the official scorer will rule this 'defensive indifference' and not award the runner with a stolen base. You might see this in the 9th inning of a game where the team batting is down by several runs and the defensive team is more concerned with getting the batter out than attempting to throw out a base runner attempting to steal since that run will not affect the outcome of the game.


What is the first base-mans job in a softball game?

For defense the first baseman has to catch flyballs and field grounders sent in their direction. The first baseman also has to catch throws from other fielders to touch first base or the runner for the out. When the batter is bunting, the first baseman is expected to cover the space between the pitcher's mound and first base. The first baseman covers the first base bag in case the runner on first wants to steal. The first baseman usually bats for their team, but they do the same batting things as every other player


What is an energy relay race?

Energy relay game is a race game, in which there are four runner (One team). There are three points where the first runner of the team passes the stick to the second runner. The second runner passes the stick to third runner and third runner passes the stick to last runner. This cycle is completed by all the participating teams. The team who did this first is the winner.


Has anyone ever stolen 1st base in a baseball game?

It is a baseball saying that "you can't steal first base", so it is perhaps surprising that it has been done, at least once. On August 4, 1911, Herman A. "Germany" Schaefer was on first base and another runner was on third. Schaefer stole second in an unsuccessful attempt to draw a throw so the other runner could steal home. Since this didn't work, he returned to first base--"stealing" first from second--so that he could try again. It has also been reported that he did this in an earlier game, but the report is unconfirmed. It wasn't until 1920 that the rules were changed so that a runner could not relinquish a base that he had safely reached.


Can a runner on third base steal home when the batter gets ball four?

Yes. The game is in play unless someone call time out. Any runner can still advance although if forced, the runner on first or the runners on first and second get free passes. The batter can take his time going to first but all other runners are in play. That's why you never see a catcher trying to catch a the runner going from 1st to second on a steal because on ball 4, if there's an error on the throw, everyone can still advance.


Who made an unassisted triple play in 1920?

Bill Wambsganss of the Cleveland Indians turned the rare trick on Oct. 10, 1920, in Game 5 against the Brooklyn Dodgers. In the fifth inning of the Series game in Cleveland, Wambsganss caught a line drive, stepped on second base to retire a runner, and then tagged a runner who had left first base.


Is the batter turned runner out for going into the dugout before reaching first base thinking the play had been madebut first baseman was not on the bag?

in the game of baseball is the batter turned runner automatically out for going into the dugout thinking the play would be made, but the first baseman was never on the bag when the throw was received?


When to bunt a ball in the game softball?

Whenever your coach tells you to is probably the best idea. But if the coach tells you its up to you then make sure you don't have any strikes and its best to make sure there is already someone on first base because then if you make it base then you go two on the field but if you get out you can always advance the runner.


Runner scores from first to win game in bottom 9 does the batter get a triple or double or single?

If the ball is hit in to the field, it's a single. If the ball bounces in to the stands, it's a double. If the ball leaves the park on the fly, it's a home run. In order for a game-ending hit to be ruled a double or a home run, the batter must advance to the necessary base. Example: Game 5 of the 1999 NLCS ended on what would have been a grand slam home run. The winning run was on third base and the batter advanced to first and stopped (mobbed by his teammates). He was credited with a 1 RBI single and not a grand slam since only the runner on third scored. The runner on second crossed the plate, but not before the celebration officially ended the game. The runner on first never advanced to second. (Had the batter reached second before the runner on first, he would have been called out.)


If the same fielder makes all three outs in a single inning is that a record?

The answer is that it is not a record. In a recent Phillies game Eric Bruntlett caught a line drive, stepped on second base to catch the runner off base, then tagged the runner coming from first base. He made all three outs by himself. This rare play has been done several times in baseball.


How can you get out in a baseball game?

1. Strike out (three strikes, less than four balls)2. Pop-up the ball (ball "flies" in the air and a defensive player catches it)3. Force out (Wikipedia's definition: In baseball, a force is a situation when a baserunner is compelled (or forced) to vacate his time-of-pitch base-and thus try to advance to the next base-because the batter became a runner. A runner at first base is always forced to attempt to advance to second basewhen the batter becomes a runner. Runners at second or third base are forced only when all bases preceding their time-of-pitch base are occupied by other baserunners and the batter becomes a runner.A forced runner's force base is the next base beyond his time-of-pitch base. Any attempt by fielders to put a forced runner out is called a force play. A forced runner is out (called a force out) when a fielder with the ball touches the runner's force base before the runner reaches that base. A forced runner also may be tagged out in the usual fashion as well; such a tag is still considered a force play if the tag is made before the runner reaches his force base. Any play on the batter-runner before he reaches first base is the same as a force play, though the rules do not include this in the definition of a force play.A force on a runner is "removed" when the batter or a following runner is put out. This most often happens on fly outs-on such, the batter-runner is out, and the other runner(s) must return to their time-of-pitch base, known as tagging up.Force outs may also be called on neighborhood plays, though this tradition goes against the rules.)4. Tag-out (when tagged if not on a base, player that tags you must have the ball)5. Bunt foul with two strikes6. When hit by the baseball when a defensive player has not made a play yet.7. InterferenceI hope that helps. :)


What is defense indeference in baseball?

Defensive indifference:The official scorer shall not score a stolen base when a runner advances solely because of the defensive team's indifference to the runner's advance. The official scorer shall score such a play as a fielder's choice.Rule 10.07(g) Comment: The scorer shall consider, in judging whether the defensive team has been indifferent to a runner's advance, the totality of the circumstances, including the inning and score of the game, whether the defensive team had held the runner on base, whether the pitcher had made any pickoff attempts on that runner before the runner's advance, whether the fielder ordinarily expected to cover the base to which the runner advanced made a move to cover such base, whether the defensive team had a legitimate strategic motive to not contest the runner's advance or whether the defensive team might be trying impermissibly to deny the runner credit for a stolen base. For example, with runners on first and third bases, the official scorer should ordinarily credit a stolen base when the runner on first advances to second, if, in the scorer's judgment, the defensive team had a legitimate strategic motive-namely, preventing the runner on third base from scoring on the throw to second base-not to contest the runner's advance to second base. The official scorer may conclude that the defensive team is impermissibly trying to deny a runner credit for a stolen base if, for example, the defensive team fails to defend the advance of a runner approaching a league or career record or a league statistical title.


In a game of softball what is the meaning of the phrase tagging up?

tagging up is whena base runner advances to the next base before the fly ball is caught


A pitcher leaves a game in sixth inning and game is tied His team goes on to loose Who is charged with the loss?

In the event of a Pitcher leaving a game in the 6th inning and the game is tied, the loss will be credited to the Pitcher that allowed the base runner on base that won the game for the opposing team.


If a courtesy runner is on base when their turn at bat comes is she out?

A courtesy runner should never be on base if she has a spot in the line-up. A courtesy runner is supposed to be a girl who is not playing in the game at all. If you are playing with a continuous line-up, then the courtesy runner should be the girl who made the last out, or the least likely girl to get up in the same inning. This makes it so their situation will not happen.


Why do you have to run on a past ball strike out in baseball?

Because if you make it to first base before the catcher throws you out you are allowed to stay on the base and the game continues.


Can you slide into first base in coed softball?

You can slide into first base in any baseball game, but people don't because most people that do usually break their legs or their a head on collision.


Who is charged with the loss if the team loses in the 9 th inning?

Which ever pitcher is responsible for the runner who scores to lose the game. Say pitcher A gives up a double, and is then replaced by Pitcher B. If pitcher B gives up another double, and the runner on second scores, Pitcher A gets the loss, because he put the scoring runner on base.