To be considered child abandonment in Alabama, a parent or legal guardian must leave a minor child with no money, clothing, shelter, food, or communication for over 3 months. If this happens, their rights can be stripped from them.
If the child is a minor, the parent has the right to control what the child does with the money and has the right to determine what items the child may have or use.
As in every situation, you give what you can comfortable afford. If the child is a close relative, you give as generously as possible and as your heart dictates. If the child is a friend's child, you might not give as much as you would your own relative.
No one. Each child will be able to collect their share of the money when they are 18. The money for the minor child will be kept by the insurance company until the minor turns 18. This is why it is not a good idea to name minors as beneficiaries of life insurance policies if the money would be necessary for the upbringing of the child. Either name an adult that you trust or create a life insurance trust to be named as the beneficiary.
The parent who pay child support to your legal guardian have to go to court and modify the child support order so the money goes to you. This is usually only done when the minor goes to college etc but if the minor still lives at home the money goes to the parent/legal guardian to pay for electricity, rent, food, etc.
A child is abandonded or killed
If a second child is born in China the parents have to have enough money to pay child support for the second child.
the money given directly to the child will not be considered child support this money has to go directly to the parent with whom the child is living
No, the insurance company will hold the money and will pay interest on proceeds until the child is of majority age in the state where the children were born.
Depending on the state laws on when child support ends, a request of the court can be made for the money to go directly to the child.
The money is still owed to the estate. This is money that should have been available for the support of the child, and the estate is less because that money wasn't received. In all likelihood, the child is going to get the money at that point.
If the debt is evidenced in writing it is the obligation of the executor to collect the debt owed to the estate.
I suppose that happens often.
10. In Michigan, a minor child (under 18 years of age) is legally defined as a possession of a parent(s). A minor child (a “possession”) cannot own possessions; therefore, any gift to the minor child, something a minor bought with personal money, or wages earned by the minor child are legally the possessions of the parent. A 17 year old who has left home against the parents’ wishes and refuses to return home has no legal right to any possessions in the parent’s home. 11. Parents control whether a minor child has a driver’s license until the age of 18 years. A parent can at any time revoke a minor child’s driving privileges. The parent will need to write a letter to the Secretary of State which indicates the minor child no longer has the parent’s permission to have a driver’s license. Here is the link this cam from http://www.barrycounty.org/YSB/MILaw.pdf
Yes it has to go to the custodial parent
In what way did they withhold it? Money given to take care of a child could be put to the mortgage, clothes, food and all sorts of things. It wasn't money that was to be handed to the kid to use as they wished. A minor has no rights to the money.
If a minor child is being abused or neglected, the obligated parent paying the child support can (and should) request an investigation by the state's department of child protective services. The court does not monitor the use of child support monies if the child has not been neglected, abused or is living in an environment which could be considered unsuitable. For example, if the minor child is not receiving necessities, food, clothing, medical care, education, and so forth; and it can be proven that the custodial parent used the support money for drugs, gambling, alcohol, etc. there could be grounds for prosecution of that individual and the minor would in all likelihood be made a "ward of the state".
They take the money...sometimes all of it depending on what is owed and process it through the states central collection unit for child support. They money is then transferred to the custodial parent.
If there is a court order and the child is a minor they have the right to take it to support your child. That will not end until the child is 18-21 depending on the law in your state. If the child now is that age you need to contact the court to stop the child support. It will not stop by itself.
If a parent does not provide money, communication, food, clothing, or shelter for a minor child for over 30 days it is considered child abandonment in Utah. This can lead to parental rights being terminated.
Keeping the money is theft. You will have to pay it back. The money should go to the person who have the kids and if that is none of the parents, both parent have to pay child support to that person.
Nope. Happens all the time. Someone has to pay to raise you child, it really should be you.
With some exceptions,child support is not paid directly to the child because it is not "the child's money" - it is compensation to the custodial parent because they are raising the child alone. Child support must be paid to the custodial parent or legal guardian.However, if the child is no longer living with the custodial parent (in the case of an emancipated minor or a child 18 or older who is a full-time student), the court can be petitioned to have the money directly paid to the child.
nothing if no arrears exist see link