What is Africa?

Firstly, Africa is a continent and NOT a single country. At present it consists of 54 independent and self governing countries or territories.

As such, Africa does not have a single capital city or president.

  • Africa is the second largest continent in the world and is bisected midway (east to west) by the equator.
  • Africa is home to a wide variety of cultures and wildlife.
  • Africa has approximately 2,000 spoken languages and almost 4,000 local dialects.
  • Africa is bordered to the west by the Atlantic Ocean, and the Indian Ocean to the east; the Mediterranean Sea separates Africa from Europe (to the north)

Africa is also known for its rich mineral resources, such as copper, iron, gold, diamonds and oil; this led to what is known as "the scramble for Africa" in the early 1800's by many European colonial powers who were in search of raw materials.

Africa was also central to the Slave Trade in the 16th, 17th and 18th centuries, with millions of people being displaced and relocated to North and South America and Europe.