What is Germany?

Germany is a federal republic in Central Europe, east of France and west of Poland. It was divided into West Germany and East Germany (Warsaw Pact) during the Cold War (1946-1990), after its post World War II occupation.

The German Empire was formed from Prussia and the former Germanic Confederation states in 1871. It was succeeded by the Weimar Republic in 1919, and by the Nazi Reich from 1933 to 1945.