Asked in

What is Piaget's sensorimotor stage of development?


User Avatar
Wiki User
March 29, 2009 9:54PM

According to Piaget, the sensorimotor stage of development is the first stage that a child will pass through. This stages begins at birth and lasts, approximately, until the age of two. During this stage, the infant gains information about the world through his or her senses and motor movements. He/she constructs the world by tasting, banging, grasping, etc. By the end of this stage, he/she is beginning to understand cause/effect relationships and object permanence, and will also have developed essential spacial abilities.