Baseball
Baseball Rules and Regulations

What is a passed ball?

464748

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2018-02-08 08:42:53
2018-02-08 08:42:53
Passed Ball

A pitch that should have been fielded by the catcher but was missed, allowing a runner to advance a base.

Note: this is not the same thing as a wild pitch, which is scored as the pitchers fault.
I presume you mean "passed ball." This is a ball that gets past the catcher when thrown by the pitcher, when the catcher should have caught it. It is distinct from a wild pitch, which is one where the pitcher, not the catcher, is considered to have been at fault. The distinction between the two have no effect on the final score. The decision on whether a ball is a wild pitch or a passed ball is made by the official scorer at the game.

1
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0

Related Questions

User Avatar

A passed ball is not recorded as an error.

User Avatar

No it is not is is scored as a passed ball.

User Avatar

i passed the ball to my teammate

User Avatar

No ... no RBI is credited for either a passed ball or a wild pitch.

User Avatar

Only if the bases are loaded and the wild pitch or passed ball is ball four.

User Avatar

If the ball gets passed the catcher on a (passed) drooped 3rd strike it is scored as a strike out ... If the catcher throws the ball to 1st before the batter gets there it is scored as a strike out and or a 2 to 3 put out ...More then likely a passed ball will be scored an Error then another way ...

User Avatar

Yes, a goalie can use his hands after playing the ball with their feet, provided that the ball was not passed to him by a team mate of his who passed the ball to him using their feet.

User Avatar

The ball must be passed either in line with the ball carrier OR as is normally seen to the rear of the ball carrier. A ball thrown forward, dropped forward of the carrier or knocked forward of the ball carrier is a penalty offense

User Avatar

If the play is scored as a passed ball it is an error. It should only be scored a passed ball/wild pitch if a runner advances, or on the third strike the batter reaches first base safely. The scoring is sometimes a judgment call. Some statisticians are more strict on calling it a passed ball or wild pitch.

User Avatar

Yes, if the ball is pitched in a location where the catcher has a reasonable chance of stopping the ball, that is a passed ball and the error is charged to the catcher. If the ball is pitched in a location where the catcher does NOT have a reasonable chance of stopping the ball, that is a wild pitch and the error is charged to the pitcher. Actually, a passed ball is NOT charged as an error against the catcher. It's simply charged as a passed ball. Not terribly logical, I agree, but that's the rule.

User Avatar

In rugby the ball is only able to be passed backwards to a player in a position behind where you are standing. You are not allowed to pass the ball forward otherwise the opposition will get the ball in the form of a scrum at the position you passed the ball forward

User Avatar

If the passed ball was a result of strike three (with fewer than 2 outs), and first base is unoccupied, the batter can ATTEMPT to run to first base before being thrown out by the catcher. (He is not ENTITLED to first base). He is entitled to first base if the pitch was ball four, whether the ball is a passed ball or not.

User Avatar

No - a passed ball is credited to the catcher's statistics and to the team's passed balls statistics.Not only is a passed ball not a team error, it is not considered an error at all. Passed balls and wild pitches are given their own statistical categories with no error charged on either type of play.

User Avatar

You can have the ball passed to you You can intercept the opposition's pass You can rebound the ball from a missed shot When there is a foul or an out from the opponent's team, you can get the ball.

User Avatar

A passed ball is given to the catcher if he misses a pitch or fails to keep it from getting away from him. When the pitcher is at fault, it is called a wild pitch.

User Avatar

No, a batter will not receive a RBI in the event of a baserunner scoring a run on a passed ball. The batter will have to hit a batted ball in order to score a baserunner. Hitting after a passed ball will not be counted as a run scoring play regardless of the following outcome of the batter's at-bat.

User Avatar

It is an error, charged to the catcher as a passed ball, however, it does not show up in the stats as an error.

User Avatar

it does not as any runs scoring as a result of a passed ball are unearned and so do not count towards the pitcher earned run average

User Avatar

No. Passed balls and wild pitches are not considered stolen bases.

User Avatar

Fred Brown of Georgetown passed the ball to James Worthy of North Carolina in the 1982 NCAA finals

User Avatar

It depends. Is the ball being thrown or is it hit. If it's hit off the bat and hits a base runner it's a dead ball and the runner is out if the ball has not passed a fielder. If the ball has already passed a fielder then the ball is live and the runner is not out. It is as if it never happened. If it hits the runner when it is thrown it is perceived as if it never hit the runner.


Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.