answersLogoWhite
Ask
Candy
Chewing Gum

What is confectioner's glaze?

242526
Answer

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2010-10-03 02:30:21
2010-10-03 02:30:21

Confectioner's glaze is a clear, all-natural coating used to protect the quality and taste of mostly candy items. It is used to seal the candies from air and moisture.

The confectioners glaze is food-grade, wax-free natural "Lac." Lac is the generic name of the natural resin gathered by the Lac beetle that thrives on various host trees and shrubs in India, Burma, Indochina, and Siam. The Lac beetle converts the sap of the trees into resin. It is very similar to a bee's production of honey and is called "transferred nectar." The Lac resin is collected, crushed, washed, dried, and made into pure food glaze. The Lac beetle is not harmed in any way.

123
0

Related Questions

User Avatar

The simplest glaze is made by combining powdered sugar with just enough liquid for it to let it flow evenly from a spoon. Sifting the powdered sugar before adding liquid will prevent lumpy glaze. Water or milk may be used as the liquid, or any fruit juice. Lemon juice makes a delicious glaze when mixed with powdered (confectioners') sugar.

User Avatar

Confectioners glaze is a by-product of the Lac beetle. Lac is the generic name of the natural resin gathered by the Lac beetle that thrives on various trees and shrubs in India, Burma, Indochina, and Siam. The Lac beetle converts the sap of the trees into resin. It is very similar to a bee's production of honey and is called "transferred nectar." The Lac resin is collected, crushed, washed, dried, and made into pure food glaze. The Lac beetle is not harmed in any way.

User Avatar

Glazing is the term used to pour a thin coating of very thinned out (by liquid) frosting. A simple glaze is made up of confectioners sugar, milk (or liquid of choice) and a small amount of flavoring (vanilla, lemon, almond extract, etc..)

User Avatar

Apparently not, because I just found multiple recipes for Angel Food Cake online that just use regular granulated sugar. Now if you want to make a glaze to put on top, you may need confectioners sugar

User Avatar

Lac bug shell is edible, we have been eating it for years. We cover fruits in lac, and add it to candy (confectioner's glaze). But is it kosher? I have never heard that candies which have confectioners glaze on it have not been declaired as not kosher. Some insects are kosher, even some of the locusts are kosher. See 613 commandments for more information.


Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.