Laws do not prescribe a minimum age, but the child's maturity and ability to take care of themselves will be a factor in determining if there was any child endangerment. AnswerMichigan, as almost every state, does not have a law specifying the age at which a minor child can be left home alone. The basic criteria is the circumstances and the amount of time that the child is left rather than age, which creates a legal "Catch-22". The law presumes that the parent(s) or adult caregiver will be prudent in assessing the child or children's level of maturity when making such a decision. It goes without saying one should never leave an infant or small child alone for any length of time. Generally a child under the age of 12 is not considered mature enough to deal with some of the circumstances that might arise.
If a minor child is injured and needs medical attention or is found left in an environment considered unacceptable (as in no staples, utilities, etc.) the parent or adult caregiver can be charged with child endangerment and/or neglect. Due to the way the statue is written it is strictly a judgment call on the part of the parent or adult in charge.
Be advised that in almost any state a child under the age of 12 left w/o adult contact for more than twenty-four hours can be considered to have been abandoned. LEGAL AGE.
There are very few states in the U.S. with legal minimum ages, but many state agencies have published guidelines (Georgia, Illinois, Maryland and Oregon are a few of the states with very specific ages). Typically 8 year olds and over can be left at home for up to several hours (usually after school before a parent gets home from work).
CT does not have a legal age to stay home alone. The state guidelines suggest 12 but also state that you have to make a decision based on your child's maturity, the length of time alone and other factors.
Legal minimum home alone age in IL is 13.
The legal age to stay home alone in Michigan is 11 years old. At this age, a child can babysit other children and siblings as well.
Michigan Builders Licenses are required for certified home inspectors
The state of Texas does not have a minimum age law stating when a child is old enough to be left home alone. Leaving teenagers at home alone overnight, is not recommended.
There is no law in the state of Indiana which places a legal minimum age at which a kid can be left home alone. The minimum age ranges from 8 to 14 in other states.
I don't think there is a minimum age but is rather at the parents descretion, probably based on the child's ability to care of themselves. Maturity would help too, of course. 10,11,12,13 and old
16 years of age
There is no minimum age required for a child to stay home alone in New York state. The New York State Office of Children and Family Services states that it depends on the maturity of the child and recommend that age 12-13 would be appropriate.
The state of Michigan does not have a specific law against this situation. It is up to the parent to know whether or not their sixteen year old is responsible enough to stay home alone overnight.
There is no legal minimum age for a child to be left alone in Alberta.
A child must be at least 11 years old to stay home alone in Michigan. They can also babysit other children and siblings at this age.
17 is legal age in the state of Michigan.
since the legal age in Michigan to stay home alone is 12, i believe that the legal age for babysitting is also 12.
The law does not dictate the age that children can be left alone. Parents are required to provide reasonable supervision. The question of reasonable depends on the age of the child and the circumstances, such as period of time, time of day, access to adult supervision, etc.
LEGAL AGE There are very few states in the U.S. with legal minimum ages, but many state agencies have published guidelines. Michigan currently has no legal minimum age. Georgia, Illiniois, Maryland and Oregon are a few of the states with very specific ages. Typically 8 year olds and over can be left at home for up to several hours (usually after school before a parent gets home from work).12 years old appears to be the most common recommendation. The link Home Alone Children Legal Age Limits listed under Related Links provides a state by state comparison.
Some states have set a minimum age for which children can be left at home alone. Texas has not set a minimum age for leaving children at home, but it is best to consider the maturity and responsibility levels of an individual child before leaving them at home overnight.
There is no legal minimum age in which a child can be left home alone overnight in Virginia. However it is not recommended that any child be left home alone at all until at least age 12.
There is no legal minimum age in which a child can be left home alone overnight in Missouri. However it is never recommended that a child younger than age 12 be left home alone at all.
If a borrower defaults on loan payments for a manufactured home in Michigan, the creditor can take the manufactured home. If the manufactured home is real property the repossession and foreclosure is on the manufactured home alone. If the home is being used for residential purposes, the home is repossessed according to personal property laws.
Usally the most common age seems to be 12 and above. Although the legal age in Michigan is 12.
There are a variety of reasons while a child may be left home alone. If you live in South Dakota it is important to keep in mind that there is no minimum age at which your child can be left home alone. However, you should use your best judgment and it is not a good thing to leave any one younger then 12 home alone.
The State of Michigan does require home care providers to be properly liscensed. You can check with the state to verify that someone is liscensed. Michigan, like all states, requires home care agencies to be licensed. The Michigan Department of Health and Public Safety is responsible for the licensing and more information is available on their website.
ANSWER: 9- 10 years old are the legal age that a child can stay home without their parents.