What is the Chikasaw Nation?

The Chickasaw Nation is a Native American tribe that still exists today. It is considered to be part of the "Five Civilized Tribes", which include the Chickasaw, Choctaw, Cherokee, Creek and Seminole. The Chickasaw Nation originated in what is now Mississippi, Kentucky, Alabama and Tennessee. Because of the Indian Removal Act of 1830 the tribe was forced to relocate to south central Oklahoma during "The Trail of Tears". Following relocation, their capital was established in Tishomingo, OK. For more info visit chickasaw.net.