History of Australia

What is the SEATO treaty?

User Avatar
Wiki User
September 26, 2008 9:15AM

SEATO was a treaty between a group of countries. The letters stood for the Southeast Asia Treaty Organisation. It was signed by the United States, Britain, France, Australia, New Zealand, the Philippines, Thailand, and Pakistan (which withdrew in 1972) on 8 September 1954. It was a loose alliance between the signing countries which did not obligate any of the others to respond if one was threatened in war, but the members could request protection from each other. The SEATO alliance disbanded in 1977.