The main consideration in kosher food is that all the ingredients must be kosher, and the machinery that the food is processed on should not have been used to make non-kosher foods.
Wine is different than food because of a sensitive historical situation. Because idolators used to offer wine to their idols, kosher wine must be protected under the supervision of a religious Jew or certifying agency.
Today, the way you can be sure that wine or processed foods are kosher is that they have the symbol of a kosher certifying agency.
Non-kosher pickles have non-kosher ingredients.
That depends how religious you are. Orthodox Jews NEVER buy anything non-kosher. Yes, kosher wine can be stored in the same place as non-kosher wine as they're in sealed bottles.
The key difference between kosher and non-kosher wines is that the grapes in kosher wines must be from vines in their fourth year before they are harvested and used to make wine. This is because the first three years of the plants' lives are considered holy and untouchable; a sacrifice to God. In addition, kosher wine is so because an observant Jew must be the one to be physically handling the grapes throughout the entire process. Others make work on machinery or indirectly, but when it comes to actually touching and handling grapes, it must be an observant Jew.
It depends on the ingredients that are used.
Kosher is food blessed with holy water and untouched by human hands
If you mean truffles infused with wine, it would be kosher if the wine is kosher (and the processing pots or vessels had not previously handled non-kosher foods).
No, there is no difference in tenderness between kosher and non-kosher beef. The animals are raised in the exact same way with the only difference being the way in which they are slaughtered and that as part of the kashering process, kosher beef is salted to draw out excess blood.
Kosher food have been produced under the supervision or a Jewish Rabbi, whereas non kosher foods have not. _________ Correction: Kosher food does not require a Rabbi's involvement. When talking about commercially prepared food, the kitchen has to be supervised by a 'mashgiach'. Any orthodox Jew can be a mashgiach. Kosher food is prepared with kosher ingredients following the laws of kashrut.
A banana can be rendered non-kosher if it is cut with a non-kosher utensil, served on a non-kosher dish, and/or mixed with non-kosher food items.
Yes. It should be labeled as having had rabbinic supervision for passover use. Note that Kosher for Passover certification is distinct from the Kosher certification that non-Passover wines may have.
A kosher restaurant is laid out the same way as a non-kosher restaurant. The key difference (aside from being kosher) is that kosher restaurants serve either meat OR dairy, never both.
Yes, potatoes are kosher as they're a plant. However, if they're cooked in a non-kosher kitchen or non-kosher foods are mixed with them, they will be rendered non-kosher.
Wine produced by gentiles is not kosher.
No. Cows are kosher.
Yes, there are non-kosher hotels in Israel.
Yes! You don't need a kosher cookbook. Just remove the non-kosher ingredients.
things that aren't kosher
Yes, not only can Jews drink wine, there are times where drinking wine is a requirements, such as during Shabbat, Purim, and Pesach. There are 2 different types of Kosher wine. Non-mevushal - Only drank AND served by Jews. Mevushal (pasteurized) - Shared by non Jews with observant Jews.
It would be kosher if it came from a kosher animal.
If you observe Kosher law, then non-kosher gum shouldn't be eaten.
There is no non-kosher fruit.
Kosher meat is from an animal with split hooves and that chewes it's cud. The animal must then be properly slaughtered. The laws are extremely extensive, and this is not the proper place for them, but one of the main aspects of a kosher slaughtering - Shechita, it that the animal has the least amount of pain possible, and if the knife has any kinks or the like, the animal is not kosher
All fruit is kosher unless it is cut with non-kosher knives and/or they are mixed with non-kosher foods. Fruits that are processed in any way (canned, commercial juice, etc) but be certified kosher to confirm that nothing non-kosher has been added.
difference between a proposition and non proposition