What is the eastern and western conferences in NBA?

The NBA, like many other sports leagues, is divided into two conferences. The Western Conference, or the West, is in the western side of America. The Eastern Conference, or the East, is in the eastern side of America. Teams from each conference still play each other, but it helps for playoff purposes. Eight teams from each conference reach the playoffs, and in bracket style there is a winner of each conference. The winner of the Western Conference and the winner of the Eastern Conference play each other in a best of seven final, and the winning team is the overall champions.