Endangered, Vulnerable, and Threatened Species

What is the endangered species act?

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2012-03-28 20:03:23

The Endangered Species Act is a series of environmental protection laws passed by the United States Congress in 1973, and signed by President Richard Nixon. It was created to protect "critically imperiled" species populations from extinction, along with the ecosystems they live, and breed in.

This includes invertebrates, and vertebrates, along with plants, although fungi were not named specifically because they were considered a plant during the time the laws were being written.

These new laws were called for by President Richard Nixon, due to the rapid, and varied growth in Economics, and technology, along with uncontrolled development, and expansion with little to no regard, or concern for the future of the environment and the creatures living in it. With this "act", Federal Agencies were strictly limited, or completely forbidden from actions that might "jeopardize the continued existence of" those species listed as endangered or threatened.

Also there would be no funding, authorizing, or carrying out any actions which might be deemed as threatening, such as; physically harming, harassing, killing, removing, or trapping, those species which are listed on the ESA list, by any governmental agency, corporation, or citizen without a complete permit.

Many protections apply to the species' habitats, including appointing "critical habitat" as reserves designated specifically for recovery and research for listed species.

The US Fish and Wildlife Services or US FWS, along with the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration or NOAA are the administrative bodies of the Endangered Species Act or the ESA.

For more details, please see the sites listed below.

User Avatar

Your Answer

Still Have Questions?

Related Questions

Which practice is allowed under the Endangered Species Act?

Breeding endangered species

Who supported the Endangered Species Act?

Tito "Hoagie" Shaw supported the endangered species act.

Which of these choices is an advantage of the Endangered Species Act?

Restores balance to ecosystems

What law is designed to protect endangered species?

The Endangered Species Act 1973

Which of these choices is a disadvantage of the Endangered Species Act?

Can be difficult to increase wild populations

Who protects threatened or endangered species?

Endangered Species Act and all co- action

What determines when an animal species is placed under the protection of the Endangered Species Act?

A species is placed under the protection of the Endangered Species Act when its numbers have decreased below a minimum necessary for the survival of the species.

What are the criteria for a specie to be chosen for protection from the endangered species act?

It has to be endangered. :)

What is endangered mean?

Endangered Species means that the species has a very small population and is at a great, or greater risk of becoming extinct. Many species that become extinct never make it to the endangered species list. This is according to the Endangered Species Act

How many species have been delisted from the Endangered Species Act as of 2012?

60 species

What year was the endangered species act enacted?

The Endangered Species Act was passed in 1973. It was signed into law by President Richard Nixon on December 28, 1973.

When did gorilla's become endangered animal's?

Gorillas have been listed as Endangered under the Endangered Species Preservation Act (predecessor law to the Endangered Species Act) since Jun 2, 1970. OBVIOUSLY gorillas are not native to the U.S., but the U.S. established the worlds first Endangered Species List.

What is a endangered species and endangered specie act?

An endangered specie is a specie who is on its way to extinction. An endanered specie act is an act that you can do to help the so said endangered specie. Ex:not to do some pollution.

Who passed the endangered species act?

for reasons unknown

What are people who help endangered animals called?

Ecologists, or Endangered Species Act (ESA)

How do endangered species act like?

They do not act any differently to their usual behaviour.

Does new zealand have an endangered species act?

No. But it does have a Trade in Endangered Species Act, which implements its obligations under CITES. Considerations of Endangered Species are also likely to be taken into account as part of the consenting process for any activity requiring those consents.

What can legislation do for endangered species?

By the many laws-for example, The Bald and Golden Eagle Protection Act, the Migratoty Bird Treaty Act, the Endangered Species Act, the African Elephant Conservation Act, and the Wild Bird Conservation Act of 1992.

What are the consequences if you kill an endangered species?

The Endangered Species Act is the government policy that determines how endangered species are regulated. If you violate it by killing an endangered animal, you will have committed a serious crime punishable by large fines and jail time.

What would not be illegal under the Endangered Species Act?

There are a great many things that you could do that are not considered illegal under the Endangered Species Act. You could take pictures for example.

Are pink slippers protected in MA?

Yes. Lady’s-slipper is listed as an Endangered species under the Massachusetts Endangered Species Act.

What are the Pros and cons of the endangered species act?

animals are cool

Is spearing a fish a federal offense?

Only if the fish is an endangered species, where charges could be brought under the Endangered Species Act of 1973.

Is the Siberian tiger in the endangered species act?

Yes. There is only one tiger species, divided into six subspecies, and all are endangered now.

What is the threatened species of a pitbull?

The Endangered Species Act is "sometimes called the 'pit bull' of our environmental laws" due to the robust protections it requires for endangered and threatened species.

Still have questions?