Football - American
National Football League (NFL)
Football Rules and Regulations

What is the fine for a player throwing a ball in the stands after a touchdown?

404142

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2014-09-28 18:54:56
2014-09-28 18:54:56

collective-bargaining-agreement-2011-2020

ARTICLE 42

CLUB DISCIPLINE

Section 1.

Maximum

Discipline:

(iv)

Losing, damaging or altering Club-provided equipment-maximum fine of $1,770, and replacement cost, if any.

(v)

Throwing football into stands-maximum fine of $1,770.

1
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0

Related Questions

User Avatar

by throwing a ball and scoring a touchdown

User Avatar

All football players throwing the ball into the stands has to pay for the ball and potential face a fine for delay of game.

User Avatar

There are no fines for baseball players throwing a ball into the stands. Baseball teams don't like to accept players with too many fines on their record. Baseball is still a professional organization and those kinds of players reflect on the ball club they play for.

User Avatar

In the case of Major League Baseball, there are no fines for players that throw a baseball into the stands after their team on defense has recorded 3 outs.

User Avatar

you just answered your own question. as long as a player is in bounds with control of the ball as it crosses the plane then it is a touchdown. if the ball does not cross the plane but a player does then it is not a td. if the ball is beyond the plane and out of bounds but the player has his feet in bounds with control of the ball it is a td.

User Avatar

The rules say that no matter where the player is, the ball MUST cross the plane of the end zone. NOTE: It was a touchdown today because the ball did cross the plane.

User Avatar

As long as the player is not ruled out of bounds it is a touchdown. The goal line technically extends past out of bounds.

User Avatar

Yes. Spiking the ball to celebrate a big play is usually an automatic "Delay of Game" penalty. However there is an exception to allow the player to spike the ball after a touchdown.

User Avatar

The goal of football is to move the ball down the field and into the end zone for a touchdown.

User Avatar

No unless the ball lands in the touchdown

User Avatar

It depends on if the kicking team player was 10 yards past the line of scrimmage and also on whether it was a punt or kick off. If it was a kick off and the player was 10 yards past the line of scrimmage, then it would be a touchdown. If the player was not 10 yards past the line of scrimmage, then it is a penalty. If it is a punt the ball is placed where the player hit the ball.

User Avatar

No you can't because they would call it back out and the other team would bet the ball. Its like you throwing the ball to a person out of bounds.

User Avatar

The ball has to be in the touchdown zone. If it is above the zone it is still a touchdown. Take Troy Polamalu's touchdown on Dec,12,2010. He dived, broke the plane of the goal line but he was holding the football above the zone so it counts as a touchdown. In some cases the ref might not count it.

User Avatar

throwing a tennis ball

User Avatar

In the first days of football when a ball carrier crossed the goal line he would touch the ball to the ground. The touching of the ball to the ground for the score was called a "TOUCHDOWN". This rule still applies in rugby, where a player doesn't score unless he touches the ball to the ground.

User Avatar

No. Throwing a ball is a quadratic function.

User Avatar

a natball pass is bassicly throwing the ball to another player

User Avatar

Speed in basketball is used for the throwing of the ball and the speed of the player running or dribbling with the ball. :)

User Avatar

== == == == When the ball is advanced past the end zone line it is called a touchdown. It is worth 6 points. A touchdown can be scored on offense or defense by any player. A touchdown can also be scored if there is a fumble in the end zone, and the team that scored on that end zone recovers the fumble.

User Avatar

If it is caught by the player in the stands with no interference (such as a fan tipping the ball up), it is an out.

User Avatar

When commentators and football fans say "breaking the plane" they're talking about the endzone. The first and foremost rule in scoring a touchdown is that the football must break the plane or cross into the endzone some kind of way for anyone to even think about it being a touchdown. If a team runs the ball, it wouldn't matter if the player got his whole body into the endzone. If the ball didn't break the plane as he went in it is not a touchdown. If the ball is passed and is caught by a player who is falling forward out of the endzone and he doesn't allow the ball to break the plane it is not a touchdown.

User Avatar

you get a penalty and have to redo the touchdown. The above answer is wrong. Excessive celebration is a dead-ball personal foul. Because a dead-ball foul occurs after the play is over, the touchdown still stands. The 15-yard penalty is assessed on the ensuing kickoff.


Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.