answersLogoWhite
Children and the Law
Age of Consent & Underage Relationships
Gay Lesbian and Bisexual

What is the law about a relationship with a minor in California?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2012-12-08 02:23:39

The age of consent in California is 18 at the time of this answer (2012).

001
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Your Answer

Loading...

Still Have Questions?

Related Questions

What is the California curfew law?

in California the curfew law for a minor is 12:00 a.m for an adualt is 12:30 a.m.


Is a consensual relationship with a minor legal?

No, it is not. A sexual relationship with a minor is illegal. It is legally impossible for a relationship with someone under the age of consent to be "consensual". A minor, or a child (because that is how the law regards them) cannot consent to sex. If there is an age limit for minor in your state that is older than the age of consent, then a sexual relationship with a minor over the age of consent is legal.


What charges can be brought against an adult for dating a minor in California?

If the parents/guardians of the minor object, they may place a charge of "harassment" or 'stalking' against you or may even file a restraining order to prevent your dating. As far as the law is concerned it's not so much the "dating" part of the relationship is concerned, as it is the possiblity of of a sexual relationship. The consequences for an adult engaging in sex with a minor (whether the minor consent or not) is SERIOUS.


How can a minor be emancipated under California law.?

Go in front of a judge and request emancipation.


What happens when you get a minor in possession of alcohol in California?

What happens when you get a minor in possession of alcohol in California


In what state is there no law about a minor staying home by themselves?

California,Tennesee,Washington,South Dakota,Illinois,Utah,and Minnesota


Can i get a minor in law and a bachelor's degree on business in the same time?

I do not believe there is a minor in law. In addition, there is no such thing as a bachelor's or master's in law. They do have pre-law programs, however it is not a degree or minor.


Is it all right to date a girl 4 years older than yourself?

* As long as you are not a minor then there is no reason you shouldn't date. Age is simply a number, but by law you can't be a minor and have a relationship with an older woman.


Can a minor witness a wedding in California?

yes of course even if you are a minor


What is the relationship between state and law?

what is relationship between law and state


Why is the woman your brother married called your sister-in-law?

The term "in-law" is used to indicate someone who is "related" by law rather than by blood. Since marriage is a legal relationship (whether by common law or canon law) rather than a blood relationship, the term "in-law" is used.The term "in-law" comes from canon law (as opposed to common law). Canon law is law that governs the conduct of a faith's membership. In this case, the term refers to a relationship that is "not natural," that is, not by blood. So, your in-laws are granted a relationship that is between having no relationship and having blood relationship to you. Anyone of a blood relationship on the "in-law" side of the relationship are also considered your in-laws (father-in-law, son-in-law, etc.).


Can a 15 year old leave home in California?

Not without the parent/guardian permission. At age 15 you are, in the terms of the law, still a minor child.


Can a minor drink alcohol with parents permission on home property in California?

Nope. If you are under 21 you can't drink. Your parents could get in trouble with the law


What is the law against battery of a minor?

The law says it is illegal to batter anyone, and especially bad to batter a minor.


Is it against the law for a 16 yr old girl and a 30 yr old man to be in a relationship?

Well yea and no. It is not illegal to be in a relationship but if it is a sextual relationship then yes. That is because the girl is a minor and a minor having sex with an dult is called stagitory rape. Even if it is willing the adult can be charged and sent to prison and more than likely be sued by the girl's parents for all sorts of things. So if the relationship is not sextual than is is frowned upon but it isn't exactly breaking the law. Sexual raltaionships are illegal though.


the law in California requires that your vehicle be?

the law in California requires that your vehicle be


Is it legal to serve a minor in a bar in Wisconsin if accompanied by their parent?

No. But if they are anything like California, the server CAN serve the parent. And then the parent can serve the minor in full view of the server and other patrons, including law enforcement officers...


Is boyles law a direct or indirect relationship?

Boyle's Law is an indirect relationship. (Or an inverse)


Where find the act of emacipation of california?

EmancipationAs children enter their teen years and gain more independence from parents, both may have questions regarding the process, legal requirements and consequences of emancipation.Emancipation is a legal way for children to become adults before they turn eighteen. Under California law, a minor may be emancipated by a court declaration of emancipation under the Emancipation of Minors Law , which provides that a person is an emancipated minor if they fulfill one of these three categories:The minor has gotten married with permission from parents and the court.The minor has joined the armed forces with permission from parents.The minor has received a declaration of emancipation from a judge.California law states in order to get a declaration of emancipation from a judge, the minor have to prove ALL of the following criteria. The minor must be at least 14 years old, the minor must not want live with their parents and the parents do not mind if the minor moves out, the minor can handle their own money, the minor is employed and has a legal way to make money.Once a minor is emancipated, his or her parents don't have custody or control of him or her anymore and they can do some things without parental permission, including: get medical care, apply for a work permit, and sign up for school or college. However, an emancipated minor must go to school, must get parental permission before getting married, and will go to juvenile court if they break the law. For more general information on emancipation,contact the Judicial Council of California.


Is there a California grace period law?

I there a grace period for California law for work


When was California Law Review created?

California Law Review was created in 1912.


Is there common law marriage in California?

No, Common Law marriage is not recognized in California.


What is harboring a minor?

Hiding a minor from the law and sometimes his or her parents. Sometimes that refers to when a minor comitted a crime and you're hiding them so it makes it hard for the law to find them and prosecute them.


How can you get guardianship of a minor in California?

You petition the court.


Minor violation of the law?

Misdemeanor