There are very few states in the U.S. with legal minimum ages for children home alone, but many state agencies have published guidelines. Georgia, Illiniois, Maryland and Oregon are a few of the states with specific ages mentioned in their laws.
12 years of age appears to be the most common recommendation. Below in Related Links is an article entitled Home Alone Children Legal Age Limits which provides one guideline from a California agency representative who suggests that 8 year olds and over can be left at home for up to several hours (usually after school before a parent gets home from work). This site also provides a state by state comparison with references which includes the following statement: "Although, there is no Texas law that defines a specific age at which a child may be left home alone, there are several factors that should be taken into consideration when deciding how closely to supervise a child..." - Texas Department of Family and Protective Services
On this site, there is a chart that shows the legal age for latchkey kids for each state: http://www.latchkey-kids.com/latchkey-kids-age-limits.htm .
The legal age is 14 years of age.
There is no legal age limit but guidelines are posted for most states. Refer to Latchkey Kids Age Limits below.
The state of Alaska does not have a latchkey law. This means there is no legal age at which a child can be left home alone. It is however not recommended that a child under age 12 be left alone without a parent or guardian present.
what is the legal age for a child in the state of Texas decide which parent they want to live with
The legal age of a child leaving their home in Texas is 18. Under the age of 18 is considered a minor.
A child become a legal adult at 18, age of sexual consent is 17.
According to CPS (child protective services), the legal "latchkey" age for children to be home alone during daylight/business hours is as young as 8 years old. The legal age for a child to babysit his/her own siblings during any time, but not overnight, is 11 years old. The legal age for a child to babysit children who are not siblings is 12 years old.
California currently does not have any laws that specify how old a child has to be to be left home alone. It is ultimately left up to the parents to make this decision.
There is no legal age. It all depends on how mature the child is. If they can take care of themselves in a situation or not like food fire ex.
There is no legal age where a child is old enough to play outside by themselves in Texas. However, there should always be someone supervising a child when they are outside, even if they seem old enough to take care of themselves.
The legal age for moving out in Texas is 18.
Someone under the age of 18 is considered a minor.
They have to be 18yo.
Texas set the laws in 1915. School attendance is compulsory from age 6 to 18.
If the person is a child, ie. under 18 years of age, then yes. If the person is no longer a child, ie 18 and over (which is the legal adult age in Texas, then no.
the legal age of driving in Texas is actually 16 years of age!
18, unless the parents give permission for the child to live elsewhere.
Texas is the only state that allows the child to make a choice, when over the age of 12, but there are srtill some limitations.
There is no law specifying an age. The child must be safe, feel that they are safe and know how to handle emergencies.
Carol A Hartman has written: 'Comparing a school sponsored latchkey program and self care' -- subject(s): School-age child care, Latchkey children
I live in Texas and we leave my son alone and he is 10. So i dont know.
No, 18 is the age of majority in Texas.
At age 18. in Texas any child is considered an adult at that age.
18 or graduation from high school, whichever is later. Unless the child is disabled.