answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The legal age is 18. Missouri like many other states has a stipulation in the juvenile code which refers to a person being at least 17 being an "adult". This law pertains to adjudication proceedings only. The term designates when a minor can be tried in an adult court. The age noted in the juvenile code DOES NOT supercede the state's actual age of majority which is as was noted, 18.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2005-11-11 00:43:09
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is the legal age of majority in Missouri?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Legal age in Missouri?

The age of majority in Missouri is 18.


What is the legal age for automatic child emancipation in the state of Missouri?

The age of majority is 18 in Missouri.


At what age can a child be emancipated in Missouri?

Missouri does not have existing laws nor procedures for the emancipation of minors. The legal age of majority for the state is 18.


What is the legal age you can move out in Missouri?

It is the age of majority, the point where you are considered an adult. In Missouri, that is 18. Until then your parents are responsible for you in the eyes of the law.


Is a female in the state of Missouri of legal age at 17?

The legal age of majority in Missouri is eighteen. Missouri has a addendum to the Juvenile Court Codes which reads an "adult" is anyone who is of the age of seventeen. This law pertains to criminal court procedures ONLY and designates how a person of seventeen years should be adjudicated concerning specified criminal matters. It does not supercede the legal age of majority law.


How old do you have to be to move out of your parents' house legally in Missouri?

The legal age of majority is 18.


What is the legal age for girl in Missouri?

The legal age for a girl in Missouri is eighteen. Eighteen is also the legal age for a boy in the state of Missouri.


What is the legal age of majority in Maryland?

The legal age of majority in Maryland is 18.


Can a 15-year-old in Missouri move out without parents' permission if she has somewhere to go?

No, the legal age of majority in Missouri is 18. The age of majority law should not be confused with the age cited in the MO. juvenile code, which designates an "adult" as being 17-years of age, that pertains to judicial procedures only and does not supercede the actual legal age of 18.


If you are 17 and in foster care can you get amancipated at the age of 17 in Missouri?

Missouri does not have existing laws nor procedures for the emancipation of minors. The legal age of majority for the state is 18.


What is the legal age of majority in Colorado?

The "legal age of majority" refers to the age when a person is considered an adult. Some additional laws may apply, however, like the drinking age may differ from the legal age of majority. In Colorado, the legal age of majority is 18 years old.


Can you move out on your own at the age of 16 in the state of Missouri?

No, the legal age of majority in Missouri is 18. Please do not confuse this age with the age cited in the juvenile code referring to an "adult" as being 17-years of age. The JC is for adjudication procedures only and does not supercede the established legal age of the state which is most assuredly, 18.


What age can you move out in Missouri?

The age of majority which is 18.


What is the legal age of majority in Las Vegas Nevada?

States establish the legal age of majority so it will not matter in which city a minor resides. In Nevada the legal age of majority is 18.


What is the age of majority in NC?

The legal age of majority in NC is 18.


At what age can children in Missouri claim independence from their parents?

Unless emancipated by the courts, 18 is the legal age of independance. * Missouri does not have grounds nor procedure for the emancipation of a minor, therefore the act is not allowed. The legal age of majority is 18; not to be confused with the juvenile code which sets the age 17 which is when a minor can be prosecuted as an adult.


Is the Missouri law that states you can legally leave and not be returned by the police but your parents are still responsible for you changing this year in August?

There is not such a bill being considered by the Missouri legislature to be enacted into law. Nor is there an existing Missouri statute allowing such action. The legal age of majority in Missouri is 18. Parents are responsible for their child/children until they reach said age or are married or enlist for active military duty, both of which require parental permission. Missouri does not have emancipation status for minors. The juvenile code refers to a minor being an adult at the age of 17. This is NOT the legal age of majority. The age 17 designation allows authorities to charge and prosecute minors who committ specified criminal offenses as adults rather than juveniles. The juvenile code and the legal age of majority are not synonymous.


What is the age to be considered an adult in Missouri?

The age of majority there is 21.


What age can a girl move out in Missouri?

The age of majority which is 18.


Can a 16-year-old in Missouri move out and be emancipated without having to go to court?

No, the state of Missouri does not have established grounds nor procedures for the emancipation of minors and the legal age of majority is 18.


In Missouri how old do you have to be before you can move out and your parents can say nothing about it?

Missouri's legal age of majority is 18. It is often confused with the Juvenile Code which refers to a person who is at least seventeen being an "adult". That stipulation pertains to court procedures only, NOT to the state's legal age.


What is legal age in tx?

Legal age to do what? The age of majority is 18.


What legal age in Georgia?

If you mean the age of majority (the age at which you are a legal adult), it's 18.


How old do you have to be to move out in Massachusetts?

The state's legal age of majority is 18. The state's legal age of majority is 18.


What is the Legal age of majority in New York?

18 years of age is the age of majority in New York.