answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The legal age is not legislated in most states. The factor that is looked at is whether or not the child can take care of themselves and knows how to get help if they need it. Ten or eleven for a short time during the day is considered within the norm. There are very few states in the U.S. with legal minimum ages for children home alone, but many state agencies have published guidelines. Georgia, Illiniois, Maryland and Oregon are a few of the states with specific ages mentioned in their laws.

12 years of age appears to be the most common recommendation. Below in Related Links is an article entitled Home Alone Children Legal Age Limits which provides one guideline from a California agency representative who suggests that 8 year olds and over can be left at home for up to several hours (usually after school before a parent gets home from work). This site also provides a state by state comparison with references.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-06-23 11:54:32
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is the legal age to leave a child at home for short periods of time in Florida?
Write your answer...
Submit
Sign up for more answers

Registered users can ask questions, leave comments, and earn points for submitting new answers.

Already have an account? Log in

Related questions

What is the legal age to leave your child at home in Florida?

21


What is the legal age for a child to leave school without parents consent in Florida?

16


What is the Legal age to leave a child at home?

the legal age to leave a child home is 15yr old


Is it legal to leave a 10 year old home alone in the state of Florida?

I am not a US citizen so I don't know about the state laws of Florida. However, I can tell you for certain that you should not leave a 10 year old child home alone (legal or not!).


What is the legal age a child can leave their parent in Indiana?

In Indiana the legal age for a child to leave their parents is 18 years.


What is the legal age to leave child home in FL?

There are currently no laws in Florida that govern how old a child has to be to be left home alone. It is essentially up to the parents to decide if their child is ready for it.


What is legal age to leave child alone at home in UK?

There is no legal age limit for leaving a child on their own, but it is an offence to leave a child alone if it places them at risk


Does Indiana law require a person to leave something in a will to a child?

No, they do not have to leave a child anything. They do have to identify the child as a legal heir. There is no requirement to leave them a share.


What is the legal age a minor can leave home in Florida?

14


What is the legal age to leave a child on their own?

18yr


Can parents lose custody if both are on prescription narcotics and do not keep the children with them?

Yes, if the parents do not "keep" their child with them that implies they leave the child with someone else. That someone else could petition the court for a legal guardianship and gain legal custody of the child. That would be in the best interest of the child and the person with whom the child lives should have legal custody.Yes, if the parents do not "keep" their child with them that implies they leave the child with someone else. That someone else could petition the court for a legal guardianship and gain legal custody of the child. That would be in the best interest of the child and the person with whom the child lives should have legal custody.Yes, if the parents do not "keep" their child with them that implies they leave the child with someone else. That someone else could petition the court for a legal guardianship and gain legal custody of the child. That would be in the best interest of the child and the person with whom the child lives should have legal custody.Yes, if the parents do not "keep" their child with them that implies they leave the child with someone else. That someone else could petition the court for a legal guardianship and gain legal custody of the child. That would be in the best interest of the child and the person with whom the child lives should have legal custody.


What is the legal age for a minor to leave home in Florida?

When they are no longer a minor. Which would be when they turn 18 in Florida.


What is the legal age in Florida that parents can leave town and leave a child home alone?

There is no specific legal age in Florida, however, the Florida Department of Children and Families recommends that children be at least twelve and that you may wish to wait until 15. Here is a link to a pamphlet that they produce: http://www.dcf.state.fl.us/publications/fsp/trainingbulletin/july08_trainingbulletin.pdf The information that you want is on pages 8-9


What is the legal age a child can leave home in California?

18


What is the legal age a child can leave home in Mississippi?

== == 21


What is the legal age to leave a child in the car in Virginia?

15


What legal age can a child to stay home alone in Florida?

12


What is the legal age a child can stay alone at night in Florida?

13


What age can you leave a child home alone in new york?

what age is legal to leave your child home alone in new york


What if your daughter is pregnant at 16 you have legal custody of her is it legal for her leave home now?

No, she is still a child.


Is it legal to leave a 13 year old alone overnight in Ohio?

What is the legal age in ohio to leave a child home alone overnight?


What age is a parent legal responsiblity for a child in Florida?

Until they reach the age of majority in Florida. That is the age of 18.


What is the legal age to leave a child home alone in the England?

13


What is the legal age to leave a child alone in New Mexico?

12


What is the legal age to leave a child in their own?

12 or 14 in canada?