25% of your earnings
The maximum is 25%
They can only get 25% of your pay.
50% of disposable income.
The maximum amount by federal guidelines is 25% of disposable income. Some states have their own garnishment laws which are usually less. If the state percentage of garnishment is less then the federal that will be the one imposed.
15% of weekly gross or 45 times min wage
up to 25% of after-tax income may be garnished.
If its a credit card or any other type of personal signature loan, the maximum amount is 15%.
The are only allowed to garnish up to 25% of your wages, regardless of how much you make. This is a federal regulatory law.
I believe it 17% for 1 child. For 2 children it is 25%.
The first thirty days of paid salary after the garnishment order has been placed in effect are exempt from execution. After the thirty days expires all other wages can be garnished at the maximum of 25%. Child support is not considered garnishment under Mississippi law. If a child support withholding is in effect the amount will be deducted before the garnishment action, and will not reduce the percentage of wage garnishment ordered by the court.
The state uses the federal garnishment amount of 25% of disposable weekly income with the first $154.50 being exempt from garnishment. Tennesee garnishment are generally allowed for a maximum of three months and then the garnishment order must be renewed by the garnisher.
Texas only allows wage garnishment for taxes and child support. A judgment creditor cannot garnish your wages. They can however levy your bank account once you deposit your paycheck.
Kansas uses Federal garnishment guidelines. The maximum that can be garnished is 25% with the first $154.50 (weekly based) of disposable income being exempt. Example: Weekly take home $500 minus $154.50 equals $345.50 times .25 equals $86.37. ($86.37 would be the weekly garnishment amount).
When it pertains to creditor debt, the maximum federal amount is allowed. The percentage is 25% of the debtor's disposable income with the first $154.50 (based on weekly salary) being exempt from attachment. The above does not apply to child support (max. 50%) or federal and/or state tax arrearages.
what is the maximum percentage or $ for garnishment of wages for alimony in illinois. I have fully completed child support and am continuing to pay for their colleges. I am trying to get alimony lowered but having a difficult time.
The maximum federal garnishment is 25% the maximum NY state garnishment is 10% (this does not apply to child support or spousal maintenance). Therefore the state garnishment would be the lowest, but if the student loan(s) are federally subsidized the law may allow for the higher federal garnishment to be used depending upon the person's financial status. Such issues as being disabled, head of household, and so forth would be a factor in the percentage of garnishment allowed.
The maximum under federal law is 25% of disposable income. If the state in which the garnishment is executed has a lower percentage of wage garnishment than 25% that is the one that is assessed.
up to 55% see links below
Well the maximum wage garnishment is about 75% in Oregon, but it might be different for child support. For child support the maximum allowed is 60% of after tax income if you are single and have no other children. If you have any dependents, the maximum allowed is 50% of your after tax income. Your employer may also be allowed to charge a "fee" for their services, thereby bringing the amount deducted a little higher.
25% of disposable income with the first $154.50 (weekly based) being exempt from ganishment. This only applies to judgment creditor garnishment. Creditor garnisments can ony run consecutively. Creditor garnishment does not affect any support and/or spousal maintenance witholding actions. Therefore child support and/or spousal maintenance can run concurrently with a creditor garnishment.