answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer
Copy

It speaks to the necessity of the defending team to maintain control of a ball in play. Actually, logic does have a lot to do with it. You have to complete the play in Baseball. That's one of the oldest rules. The catcher has to control the ball, or it is in play. The fielders have to control the ball on the catch, or the ball is in play. The rule is one of the oldest in baseball, predating the "walk" or "base on balls." Before the existence of the walk, batters were not compelled to swing at pitchers as they are today. (In fact, there once was a time when batters could tell the pitcher to throw the ball high or low.) After the second strike, however, umpires could declare a subsequent pitch "good," which would compel the batter to swing at the next potentially good pitch. (In other words, he was given one warning!) After two strikes, if a batter "stuck at" a good pitch -- that is, if he swung at it and missed -- or if he failed to swing at a good pitch after having been warned, the batter was declared out. It was called a "hand out." If, however, the catcher failed to hold on to the ball, it was as if the batter put the ball in play. Oddly enough, "striking out" was as good as putting the ball in play if the catcher failed to hold on to the ball. The old rule books said as much. When I find a link to an archaic rule book, I'll post it. The logic was -- and still is -- that the defense must be in control of the ball when retiring a batter or base runner.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2007-02-26 00:40:17
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +5 pts
Q: What is the purpose of the dropped third strike rule?
Write your answer...
Submit

Related Questions

Does it matter if the batter swings or not on the dropped third strike rule?

No.


What is a rule in baseball?

in a dropped third strike you can still make it to first if you get there before the ball does


Can you run on a dropped third strike with the base occupied and two outs?

Yes, there is no uncaught third strike rule when there are two outs. Additionally, there is no infield fly rule when there are two outs. Both the uncaught third strike rule and infield fly rule are only in effect when there are zero or one outs.


What happens if there is one out and a runner on first with the dropped third strike rule?

The drop third strike rule only applies when there is no runner on first base. In this case nothing would happen but the batter would be out.


Why can a hitter run to first base on a strike 3 when the catcher drops the ball?

A hitter can only run to first if the catcher drops the third strike. Because of the dropped third strike rule.


Does batter have to swing at third strike to be eligible to advance on dropped pitch?

No he does not. He can take the pitch and if the catcher drops it or the ball gets by him the dropped third strike rule is in affect unless there is somone on first with less than 2 outs. If there are 2 outs the rule is in affect even with a runner on 1st.


Does reaching base on a dropped third strike count toward a player's on-base percentage?

No. Reaching base due to the uncaught third strike rule, an error, or fielder's choice does not increase on base percentage but decreases it.


Why does the batter get to run to first and is safe if 2 strikes and catcher misses a third strike?

Well, first of all, a dropped third strike is an out if the catcher's throw beats the runner. It's that way because that's just the rule.


Why on a dropped third strike is the batter not out?

Because that is the rule- You'd have to ask the old timers that wrote the rule book??? It does give a batter a little life and a second chance after "nearly" striking out.


Does a batter get a RBI on a wild pitch?

Good question. The only thing that would be close to a WILD PITCH RBI would be if the batter swung at the pitch for a third strike, which of course the catcher couldn't catch. There would have to be a runner on third, and the batter would have to be safe at first on the dropped third strike rule. I do not believe that this would truly be an RBI though, because technically, a dropped third strike is like a walk, the batter is not credited with a hit.


Can a runner go to 1st on a dropped third strike by the catcher if 1st base is occupied?

No, If first base is open you are allowed to try to run to first on a missed 3rd strike but if it is occupied then you will immediately be called out unless there are two outs. If there are two outs the uncaught third strike rule does not apply.


Dropped third strike?

Anytime the ball hits the dirt on a 3rd strike it is considered a "dropped 3rd strike", even if it is executed as the pitcher and catcher wanted (ie. curveball in the dirt). On a dropped 3rd strike, the batter can try and advance by running to 1st base, as with any runner, the defensive team will need to tag the batter out or throw to 1st base. If the runner walks to the dugout, the umpire can call him outon his disgression. The dropped 3rd strike rule does not apply if there is a runner on 1st base with less then 2 outs. If there are 2 outs, all runners required to run would be forced to advance and be safe for this rule to apply


What is the third strike drop rule?

it is where if the catcher drops the third strike pitched then the batter can run to first base. HOpe this helps :)


Is a pitched ball that hits the ground before reaching the batter considered to be a dropped third strike?

In MLB, yes. MLB Rule 6.05(b) states that a batter is out when "A third strike is legally caught by the catcher" with the added comment "'Legally caught' means in the catcher's glove before the ball touches the ground".


Is dropped third strike by catcher scored a put out?

No, it is just recorded as a strikeoutYES ... It's scored a strikeout and a 2-3 put out ...Correction:Strikeouts are credited as putouts by the catcher According to Rule 10.09(b)(2)According to Rule 10.15(a)(2&3) a strike out is credited when a 3rd strike is dropped, thus, I suppose it would be a putout technically, however, it would not go down as 2-3 (this would give the putout to the 1st basemen)


If a batter bunts a third strike foul and the ball is not caught is it an out?

Yes. Rule 6.05(d) of the MLB Rulebook states that a batter is out if "He bunts foul on third strike".


Why 3rd strike passed ball rule?

I presume you mean "dropped" ball rule. The rule that a batter can attempt to advance to first base after a dropped third strike was part of the "New York Rules," written in 1845. These rules eventually evolved into what we now know as baseball. The justification, flimsy as it may sound, was (and remains) that every "out" should involve SOME fielding capability, not just the ability of the pitcher. If that sounds silly to you, then it's 167 years too late to complain.


Are little leaguers supposed to be taught to run on the third strike regardless of whether or not the catcher misses the ball?

No. There is no 'uncaught third strike' rule in Little League. A base runner can advance if a third strike is not caught but the batter may not reach first base due to an uncaught third strike.Majors and minors can't, but juniors and seniors can.


What is the drop third strike rule with less than two outs?

With less than two outs, if first base is unoccupied on a swinging dropped third strike, the batter must be tagged out or forced out at first base. The putout goes either to the player applying the tag (usually the catcher) or the player covering first base in the case of a force out.


Is it possible to strike out but still get to first base?

In Major League Baseball, yes. There is a rule called the 'Uncaught Third Strike' rule. This rule states that if the catcher does not cleanly catch the pitched ball that results in a third strike, the batter may run to first base as if the ball were hit. If the batter reaches first base before the ball, the batter is awarded the base.


Why can a batter strikeout and get on first by a wild pitch?

Rule 6.05(b) of the MLB Official Rules states that a batter is out when a third strike is legally caught by the catcher or when a third strike is not legally caught by the catcher and first base is occupied with less than two out. Except for the infield fly rule and the uncaught third strike rule, which keeps the defensive team from making an 'error' to make a double play or triple play, the only way a batter can be called out is if a defensive fielder has possession of the baseball. With the uncaught third strike, no one has possession of the ball.


What happens when there is strike out and pass ball with two outs?

The drop third strike rule is in effect. Whenever there is a strikeout and the ball is not caught cleanly or bounces in, this rule is in effect EXCEPT when 1st base is occupied. With 2 out, the rule is always in effect.


Why is a catcher missing a third strike not an out?

Plain and simple: it just isn't in baseball rules. It has existed at least since 1845. There is no more logic or reasoning to that rule than there is for the rule requiring nine innings instead of thirteen. It's just the rule. Catcher can drop the ball on a third strike, if firstbase is occupied.!!


What does a criminal second strike consest of?

Some states have a three strike rule where a repeat offender will receive a harsh sentence on the third offense. A second strike refers to a second offense.


Do catchers get put outs for strikeouts?

Yes. A catcher gets credited with the putout on a strikeout if the ball is caught cleanly. In the event of a dropped third strike, if the catcher tags the hitter, he again gets credited with the putout. If the third strike is dropped and the catcher must throw down to first, the catcher gets credited with an assist and the first baseman gets credited with the putout. In no case would the pitcher get credit for the putout or assist. Source: MLB Official Rule 10.09b