What is the size of lakshadweep islands?

Lakshadweep is the smallest union territory in the Indian sub-continent. The whole of Lakshad-weep area is comprised of three coral reefs, five banks that are immersed under water and twelve atolls. The wonderful land of Lakshadweep has immense possibility of being a world famous tour-ist spot.

Lakshadweep covers an area of thirty-two square kilometers. The Tropical Paradise, as the beauti-ful islands of Lakshadweep is lovingly called, is a group of thirty-six scattered islands. Out of these only ten islands are inhabited and the rest of the islands remain uninhabited and are yet to be explored. Kavaratti is the capital of the beautiful Lakshadweep islands.

Geographical location of the area of Lakshadweep is at 71 degree and 74-degree East Longitude and at 80 degree & 12 degree 30 minutes North Latitude.

According to the census of 2001, the total population of all the islands is about 60,650. Out of this, 31,131 are males and 29,519 are females. The Population Density in Lakshadweep is around 500 to 2500 people per square kilometers.

Muslims occupy majority of the area of the inhabited islands though Hindus and Christians are also part of the human community of the islands of Lakshadweep.

The Lakshadweep Area has 0486 as its STD code. As registered in the census of 2001, the liter-acy rate of the area is 87.52 percent. The official language of the islands of Lakshadweep is Mala-yalam. Like the other places in the world, the geography and history of Lakshadweep influences many of the people of Lakshadweep and their culture.