answersLogoWhite
Repossession
Statutes of Limitations

What is the statute of limitation for repossession of an auto in New York state?

373839

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2006-06-13 03:34:43
2006-06-13 03:34:43

There isn't one.This is a civil matter between you and the lender.The lender can try and repo the car for as long as they want.But usually after a number of years they write the loan off.

1

Related Questions

User Avatar

Statute laws on Burglary in New York

User Avatar

In New York State, you have six (6) years from the breach of the contract to file suit.

User Avatar

The statute of limitation for unpaid credit cards in N.Y. is 7 years.

User Avatar

If you have received a citation, you have been notified of the violation. The is no statute of limitations.

User Avatar

There will be no limitation in New York for a speeding ticket. An issued ticket serves as notification of the violation. So the normal statute of limitations will not apply.

User Avatar

The Statute of Limitations for judgments in New York is ten years. The maximum interest rate creditors can charge on these judgments is 8%.

User Avatar

Once issued traffic tickets are not subject to a statue of limitations. The offender has already been informed of the violation.

User Avatar

The Statute of Limitations for felonies in New York state is normally 5 years, when the identity of the suspect is unknown it is extended a further five years to 10 years. State legislature is considering a proposal to drop the statute altogether for violent, sexual and child sexual crimes. This means if you committed anything other than a simple assault you can and will be prosecuted when caught.

User Avatar

There will be no limitation in New York for a parking ticket. An issued ticket serves as notification of the violation. So the normal statute of limitations will not apply.

User Avatar

Statute of limitations can apply to many things. For debts in New York it is 6 years. For personal injury it is 2 1/2 to 3 years. For criminal charges, it can vary from a couple of years to none, such as for murder or other Class A felonies.

User Avatar

what is the statue of limitation on a bill i never recieved.dated 4/14/2003

User Avatar

Yes, there is a limitation in New York. For a written agreement it is six years.

User Avatar

New York has set the statute of limitations for filing a suit at 2.5 years for medical malpractice. That will be from the time of the injury or when it was discovered. There can be situations that will toll it for a longer period.

User Avatar

There is no limitation on a phone bill that you owe. You owe this bill until you pay it off or the company themselves choose to write it off.

User Avatar

Buglary is usually classified as a felony. In New York that limitation is set at five years.

User Avatar

Yes there is a limit. In New York that would be three years.

User Avatar

Felonies are forever. Meaning you have to report a felony conviction for the remainder of your life. If a judge has expunged your record, then you don't have to report it.

User Avatar

A statute of limitations applies to a law suit. In this case the contract with the insurance company sets the time limits for filing claims.

User Avatar

i have a debt that I have been unable to make a payment since 2002. It is now 7/2008, what is the statute oflimitations for debt in new york state?

User Avatar

The statute of limitations for harassment in New York is 3 years. The statute of limitations refers to the amount of time one has to file a suit against another party.

User Avatar

There is none. Kidnapping is a Class A felony in the state of New York, and like every offense in that category, does not have a statute of limitations attached to it.

User Avatar

The statute of limitations for dental malpractice in New York is the same as it is for medical malpractice-two and a half years.

User Avatar

Traffic tickets do not fall under a statute of limitations. Once New York has issued a ticket, you have been properly informed of the charges against you. You can properly prepare a defense, so the purpose of the limit no longer applies.

User Avatar

What type of assault? If it's a felony assault - 5 years. If it's a misdemeanor assault - 1 year. However - if you flee out of state to avoid the charge, the limitation period STOPS running.

User Avatar

Each state has a different statute of limitations for separation for a divorce. In New York state you must be separated for one year before a divorce.


Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.