Chronicles of Narnia
Diary of a Wimpy Kid
Ramona Quimby and Henry Huggins

What is the true reading order of The Chronicles of Narnia?

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2013-09-01 00:10:41

Well, when you say "true reading order" it is uncertain what you mean. The way the books are published now, the books are presented chronologically, so the first part of the story, historically, happens first, and so on. The only other order you could go with as "true" (at least in my mind) is the order that C.S. Lewis actually wrote the books.

In the first scenario, you would read "The Magician's Nephew" first, and in the second, you would read "The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe" first.

C.S. Lewis himself said that it probably didn't matter in which order they were read... however, as a personal observation, I think reading them in the order in which they were written works better. I think you fail to notice story discontinuity that way, because you are going along as the author did. When you read them in the other order, it is easier to find things that don't quite match up... so, if your mind works that way, you might want to read them in the order they were written.

The actual order in which the Chronicles of Narnia were written, and originally published by MacMillan is:

  • 1950: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
  • 1951: Prince Caspian
  • 1952: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
  • 1953: The Silver Chair
  • 1954: The Horse and His Boy
  • 1955: The Magician's Nephew
  • 1956: The Last Battle

When Harper-Collins took over publication, Lewis's stepson Douglas Gresham recommended they be published according to Narnian chronology. Thus, the new order became:

1. The Magicians Nephew

2. The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe

3. The Horse and His Boy

4. Prince Caspian

5. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader

6. The Silver Chair

7. The Last Battle
Four children, Peter, Susan, Edmund and Lucy are evacuated to the country in World War 2. They stay in a large house owned by an old Professor. First Lucy, then Edmund, then all four children find their way through an old wardrobe into Narnia, a magical land with talking animals and mythical creatures such as fauns and dwarves. But Narnia is held under a magical spell by the evil White Witch to ensure it's always winter but never Christmas. The children have to battle evil creatures and deal with betrayal and treachery but make many good friends as well. Finally, with the help of Aslan (The Lion) they defeat the evil witch and spring and freedom come back to Narnia.

User Avatar

Your Answer

Related Questions

yes it is true that the Chronicals of Narnia was filmed in Ireland

The true King of Narnia is Aslan, the Great Lion.

It means you have a strong imagination, that you like the Chronicles of Narnia and you are religious.I have a VERY STRONG imagination. I am an ABSOLUTE HUGE, EXTREME FAN of ALL seven books of TCON by C.S. Lewis. And, yes, I am religious. All these are 100% TRUE.

This would be a true statement. While she was in Narnia for several hours, she was only gone a few minutes.

You can read it in different orders, it doesn't make a difference. 1. order (Published) 1.The lion, the witch and the wardrobe 2.Prince Caspian 3.The voyage of the Dawn Treader 4.The silver chair 5.The horse and his boy 6.The magicians nephew 7.The last battle 2. order (Chronological) 1.The magicians nephew 2.The lion, the witch and the wardrobe 3.The horse and his boy 4.Prince Caspian 5.The voyage of the Dawn Treader 6.The silver chair 7.The last battle

Narnia is a fictional dominion, created by C S Lewis, in which an allegory of the Bible story of sin, and redemption is set.

I would be like, 'OMG!! Is this Narnia?! HOLY CRAP!! I'm gonna march out there and plant a kiss on Peter!!', things like that ^_~. Imagine, me? IN NARNIA?!?! This would be a dream come true!

It is a number, usually multiple of 10, that we have to multiply the reading of the measurement with, in order to have the true number. So if the reading is 1,23456 and the multiplying factor is 100, then the true number is 123,456.

he was a strong christian and true to his master in Narnia

C. S. Lewis recommended that they be read in the following order.The Magician's NephewThe Lion, the Witch and the WardrobeThe Horse and his BoyPrince CaspianThe Voyage of the Dawn TreaderThe Silver ChairThe Last BattleThis is the chronological order that makes sense of the action for a young reader.However, if you read them in the order they were written, you have a logical progression from lightweight to "mature" writing. The last few books have a much stronger and more terrifying presence of evil. Professor Lewis wrote the books in this order.The Lion, the Witch and the WardrobePrince CaspianThe Voyage of the Dawn TreaderThe Horse and his Boy (written fourth but published fifth)The Silver Chair (written fifth but published fourth)The Magician's NephewThe Last Battle

Jadis aka the White Witch has taken over Narnia. The Narnians feel deserted by their true king, Aslan. While four children are trying to make a prophesy come true, while the White Witch attempts to kill them.

Narnia is fiction of a supernatural type. A sort of gunned-up or amplified fantasy akin to those of Lewis Carrol or J.Frank Baum ( writers of Alice in Wonderland and Wizard of Oz).

Chronicles of Narnia: Voyage of the Dawn Treader Little Fockers Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Pt. 1 True Grit Tron Legacy Gulliver's Travels Yogi Bear The Tourist Tangled Black Swan plus the independent films playing in only your area. Above listings are as of 29 December 2010

No, the fetus have no idea that you even are reading. They don't know what reading is.

yes no that is not true stop reading gossip about stuff that is not true

If you read the first book of Narnia, The Magician's Nephew, you would find out that Jadis, the white witch, was from another land not in Narnia. The main characters go to that land and see that she destroyed it. Because her sister got the throne and not her. But when Polly and Digory, the main characters, went to Narnia, Jadis tagged along. And she wanted power over all of Narnia so she could finally be royal./ She wanted it for the wrong reason, and Aslan knew that. He was the true king of Narnia. He made it himself. But he still treated his people as if they were himself. Jadis treats everyone like servants. She wanted to be the highest of them all. and that is why she didn't have a claim to the throne.

You need to be familiar with the language in which they are written

Omar is reading a book. The author makes a claim, and Omar asks himself, "Is that really true?" This is an example of what?

There are lots of Moral Lessons in the Chronicles of Narnia. In the First movie, The Lion, the Witch and The Wardrobe, there are lots of symbolisms about Jesus Christ and things such as the Atonement. For example, when the lion Aslan gives up his own life to save Edmund from the hands of the Wicked witch, and how he gets "ressurected" on the stone tablet during sunset after 3 days.... Also it's about chosing sides and sticking to your family and what you know is true. In the second Narnia film, they portray Satan really well, as the witch witch in the cave scene with Prince Caspian and how it looks nice to choose the evil power over aslan, since they "failed" you and it covers up the lion, who represents Christ, and how you have to overcome temptations.

Sadly, no. While reading it I thought it was a true story. However, the story is fiction.

that true love can happen when you least expect it

You need to be literate in the language it is written

No, it is a story with a moral or lesson to learn from reading the fable.

Be true to yourself and stay cool. (Try reading it!)

Copyright ยฉ 2021 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.