Auto Accidents
Criminal Law

What is vehicular manslaughter?

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2006-11-29 04:19:16

Vehicular= vehicle or car manslaughter= causing the death of a human being In other words, a person caused a car accident and killed somebody. * The term is used when a death results from any accident involving a moving vehicle of any type where deliberate gross negligence (speeding, reckless driving, etc.) a DUI or DWI is proven on the part of the driver. It includes striking a pedestrian, a biker, a person in another vehicle or t a passenger in the vehicle that is At Fault, and so forth. If it is in connection with negligence (driver inattention) or a minor speeding offense and the offender does not have a prior record it is usually treated as a high class misdemeanor. If it is in connection with a DUI or DWI or occurs when another crime is being committed (racing, car jacking, etc.) it is always a priority felony charge.

User Avatar

Your Answer

Still Have Questions?

Related Questions

Is DUI vehicular manslaughter a felony in ca.?

California has some of the most severe vehicular manslaughter laws in the country. If vehicular manslaughter occurs with a DUI, you are looking at-depending on the severity of intoxication-vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated, gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated, or second-degree murder. And, yes, these would be felony offenses. The law article below goes into more detail on vehicular manslaughter and vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated.

What is the difference between vehicular homicide and vehicular manslaughter in the state of New York?

Vehicular homicide is when you use your car or any driving machine to kill someone else. Vehicular manslaughter is when you use it to hurt someone .

Who is more likely to commit non vehicular manslaughter?

i feel that someone you know is more likely to commit non-vehicular manslaughter than a stranger.

Is second degree vehicular involuntary manslaughter a felony?

Involuntary Manslaughter is in fact a Felony.

What is the Illinois statute of limitations for vehicular manslaughter?

There is none.

What is generally the vehicular manslaughter sentence in New Jersey?

Vehicular manslaughter is a 2nd degree crime in NJ so the sentence is generally between 5-10 years.

Can a juvenile be convicted of vehicular manslaughter?

Well, if juveniles are charged with adult crimes such as murder, burglary, or robbery, then I would say yes, they could be convicted of vehicular manslaughter.

Can a person convicted of vehicular manslaughter own a hand gun?


What is the penalty in Missouri for vehicular manslaughter?

Vehicular Manslaughter in Missouri is a Class B felony. A Class B felony is punishable with a minimum sentence of 5 years & a maximum of 15 years.

Manslaughter in a sentence?

Manslaughter occurs when a person is killed by another without intention. Ex. When the drunk driver killed a pedestrian, he was charged with vehicular manslaughter

Is vehicular manslaughter considered a violent crime?

No it is not considered a violent crime.

What sentence does vechicular manslaughter hold in the state of Alabama?

Committing vehicular homicide means that a death has occurred at the hands of another drivers negligence. In Alabama, the sentence for vehicular manslaughter is one to ten years in jail.

What is the legal term for auto striking a pedestrian?

vehicular manslaughter - that is if you kill the person

What are the release dates for Tom Goes to the Mayor - 2004 Vehicular Manslaughter 1-7?

Tom Goes to the Mayor - 2004 Vehicular Manslaughter 1-7 was released on: USA: 24 April 2005

What is non vehicular manslaughter?

As vehicular means relating to cars, lorries, trams, etc. Non vehicular means anything where a vehicle is not involved eg domestic violence, shootings etc.

Is a felony on a driving record?

Yes. Vehicular manslaughter is a felony and it will appear on your DMV record.

What will happen if you run over civilian with your car?

You will be charged with at least vehicular manslaughter in the US.

What is it called when someone dies from a car accident?

An accident with a fatalityAdded: If the accident death was the result of negligence or a criminal act - Vehicular Manslaughter or Vehicular Homicide.

How many years will you get for 4 vehicular manslaugher?

When it comes to vehicular manslaughter it depends on the judge and where in the world you live. You can serve anywhere from 6 years to life in prison.

Is vehicular manslaughter a felony?

In most states, any charges related to the death of another human being will be charged as a Felony. "Manslaughter" indicates a death that was due to involuntary external causes (i.e. not suicide) in which there was no direct intent to cause the death (i.e. not murder with intent or by heat of passion). Manslaughter includes negligent manslaughter, vehicular manslaughter, voluntary manslaughter and involuntary manslaughter. For example: You shoot a gun in the air on New Year's eve and a bullet kills someone blocks away when it falls. Your recklessness killed a person, but with no malicious intent it's not Murder, but involuntary manslaughter. If you drink at a friend's house and are impaired when you drive away, then kill someone whilst impaired, it's classified as Vehicular manslaughter. Hope that answers your question.

In Alabama can a parent be held accountable if their minor child commits vehicular manslaughter?

Financially, yes.

What is the statute of limitations for vehicular manslaughter in Canada?

In Canada there is no general limitation period for indictable offences.

What is the Max and Min Penalty for vehicular manslaughter when driving a commercial vehicle in the state of Texas?

20 to life.

What is the prison sentence for killing someone in a car accident?

(copy and pasted from Gross vehicular manslaughter is a felony vehicular manslaughter that (1) does not involve drunk diving or DUI, but (2) does involve the exercise of gross negligence. An example would be an otherwise sober driver who engages in a street drag race, and kills someone in the course of the race. The penalty for gross vehicular manslaughter in California is up to six years of state prison.

What is the penalty for vehicular homicide in Tennessee?

That would probably be Manslaughter, and not enough is known of the particulars of the incident to render an opinion.

Still have questions?