History of England
United Kingdom
UK Law and Legal Issues

What kind of government does the United Kingdom have?

User Avatar
Wiki User
February 09, 2017 10:40PM

The United Kingdom consists of England, Scotland,

Wales and Northern Ireland.

The United Kingdom has a Constitutional Monarchy and a

parliamentary democracy

We do not have a president, the leader of our government is

called the Prime Minister. This is because we have a monarchy still

in existence here and the queen acts as head of state, however this

role is really only ceremonial and the queen has no real power

(other than the fact that the army swears allegiance to the

throne). The Prime Minister is usually the leader of the party

which won the most recent general election. To win an election

outright in Britain, your party needs to have more elected M.P.s

than all other parties. M.P.s are members of parliament who work to

represent the views of a constituency in parliament. There is an

election in the U.K. at least once every five years. The Prime

Minister can choose to hold an election before the end of his/her

term in office.

Unlike in America, there is no limit as to how many terms you

can serve as U.K. Prime Minister. All citizens of 18 years and over

are entitled to a vote in all election (unless they are in prison).

These are always carried out in an appropriate manner so that

people will have confidence in the outcome of the election. Our

country has had this form of government for about 400 years.

Constitutional monarchy. Parliamentary Democracy.

We (the British) have not always had a democratic form of

government, voted for by the people. The concept of Parliament has

been a fairly recent idea. The government rules Britain (England,

Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland), not just England. The

government sits in parliament in London. We do not have a

president, the leader of our government is called the Prime

Minister. Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland also have devolved

governments which direct some of their internal affairs.

In Britain there are three main parties, The Conservatives

(right wing beliefs), Labour (left wing beliefs) and the Liberal

Democrats (a center party). The two parties not in power at any

given time attend parliament in opposition to the government and

question the actions the government takes. This is to ensure that

the government always acts in the interest of the people in a

lawful manner.

Our country has had this form of government for about 400 years,

however if you look back further than 100 years you will find that

not everybody was always entitled to a vote. Indeed full women's

suffrage only happened in 1928.

The U.K. has a system of Government that is properly referred to

as a 'Constitutional Monarchy' and may also be referred to as a

'Parliamentary Democracy'.

This system of Government is also largely in use throughout the

Commonwealth, and exclusively in the Commonwealth Realms. (Canada,

New Zealand, Australia, etc). A Constitutional Monarchy (in the

Westminster Style) can be broken down in to three parts; The

Sovereign, The Upper Chamber/House and the Lower Chamber/House. In

the U.K., this refers to Her Majesty The Queen, The House of Lords

and The House of Commons. Conversely in Canada, this refers to Her

Majesty The Queen, The Senate and The House of Commons.

A Constitutional Monarch has been defined as a King or Queen

that Reigns, but does not govern. This is something of a misleading

statement as Her Majesty does in fact still retain some FAR

reaching Royal Prerogative powers, but these are exercised by

members of the government.

Parliamentary Monarchy. The Queen is the head of state, but the

Prime Minister and Government run the country. England has no

government. The executive decisions regarding England are taken by

the UK government.

Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.