What percentage of Antarctica is the Australian Antarctic Territory?


User Avatar
Wiki User

As a result of Australia's pioneering work in Antarctica, 42% of the continent was established as the Australian Antarctic Territory (AAT) in 1936. In 1947, the Australian Government formed the Australian National Antarctic Research Expedition (ANARE) to set up and maintain scientific research stations in Antarctica. ANARE participants come from various Federal and State government bodies as well as universities.

Australia shares its Antarctic Territory with other countries, notably Russia, who has a number of stations in the AAT.