College Basketball
Football - American
College Football
Bowl Championship Series

What school has won the most division 1A football national championships?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2009-02-05 05:25:07
2009-02-05 05:25:07

== == Princeton has won 24 consensus National Championships,: 1869, 1870, 1872, 1873, 1875, 1877, 1878, 1879, 1880, 1881, 1884, 1885, 1886, 1889, 1893, 1896, 1899, 1903, 1906, 1911, 1920, 1922, 1933, 1935

Obviously most of these were before the 1900's, which is also true of Yale's 19 consensus National Championships: 1874, 1876, 1877, 1880, 1881, 1882, 1883, 1884, 1886, 1887, 1888, 1891, 1892, 1894, 1900, 1905, 1906, 1907, 1909

Notre Dame has won 12 consensus National Championships: 1924, 1929, 1930, 1943, 1946, 1947, 1949, 1953, 1966, 1973, 1977, 1988

Alabama may soon tie Notre Dame as they have 11 consensus National Championships: 1925, 1926, 1930, 1934, 1961, 1964, 1965, 1973, 1978, 1979, 1992

USC and Harvard each have 10 consensus National Championships


Related Questions

Yale University is the school with the most national championships in football. The school with the most wins in NCAA Division I football is the University of Michigan.

Im pretty sure there are quite a few but off the top of my head The University of Texas

The University of Notre Dame has a storied football program. During its existence the school has won 11 national football championships.

Massillon Washington High School in Massillon, Ohio.

No. The school has won 17 National championships combined, but 0 for football.

No, Alaska does not have a Division 1A football school nor does it have a Division 1AA, now known as Division 1 Football Championship Subdivision, football school.

Little Rock Central Tigers, no one else even comes close. 32 state championships and 2 national championships in football. One of the most storied program in the country.

* Through spring 2007 * The NCAA does not conduct a championship for the Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (Division I FBS - formerly Division I-A). Instead, these teams participate in a national championship system developed by the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) organization. * ** Past Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (Division I FBS) national champions. * Coed championships include rifle; skiing; and since 1990, fencing. * Each school involved in a tie is credited with one championship. * The boxing championships were discontinued after the 1960 championships. * * Division II school competing in a Division I,II or Division I, II, III national collegiate championship. * ** Division III school competing in a Division I,II,III national collegiate championship.GeorgiaTotal NCAA Team Championships: 24men's championships: 8women's championships: 16coed championships: 0Breakdown by Sport:men's baseball: 1men's golf: 2women's golf: 2women's gymnastics: 8women's swimming & diving: 4men's tennis: 5women's tennis: 2Here's a list of National Football Titles they won:1927Georgia: Boand, PolingIllinois: Billingsley, Dickinson, Helms, National Championship Foundation, Parke DavisNotre Dame: HoulgateYale: Football Research1942Georgia: Berryman, DeVold, Houlgate, Litkenhous, Poling, WilliamsonOhio St.: AP, Billingsley, Boand, Dunkel, Football Research, National Championship FoundationWisconsin: Helms1946Army: Boand*, Football Research, Helms*, Houlgate, Poling*Georgia: WilliamsonNotre Dame: AP, Berryman, Billingsley, Boand*, DeVold, Dunkel, Helms*, Litkenhous, National Championship Foundation, Poling*, Sagarin1968Georgia: LitkenhousOhio St.: AP, Berryman, Billingsley, Dunkel, FACT, FB News, Football Research, FW, Helms, National Championship Foundation, NFF, Poling, UPITexas: DeVold, Matthews, Sagarin1980Florida St.: FACT*Georgia: AP, Berryman, FACT*, FB News, FW, Helms, National Championship Foundation, NFF, Poling, Sporting News, UPINebraska: FACT*, SagarinOklahoma: Billingsley, Dunkel, MatthewsPittsburgh: DeVold, FACT*, Football Research, NY Times

Anyone who is educated only recognizes 8 national championships; 61,64,65,73,78,79,92, 09 There are five others that the school likes to claim however they are bogus. IMPROVEMENT: If we use the AP system then Alabama is tied for 1st place in national championships with Notre Dame.

The UC Los Angeles Bruins own 11 National championships, and the University of Kentucky is second with 7.

I think weber state wildcats has lost the most nataiol games

California, Michigan and Ohio State are the only teams to win Division One national titles in baseball, football and men;s basketball, although none won them all in the same year According to the Texas website, "No school in NCAA history has ever won both the men's football and basketball championships in the same season." Therefore, no one has ever won all three. California and Michigan have won all three (Michigan has also won some hockey championships), but no team has ever won all three in the same season. Florida recently won basketball and football in the same season.

Florida and LSU have each won two BCS championships. No one else has won more than one.

souther Utah is a division 1-AA football school

LSU officially claims three national championships (1958, 2003 & 2007); however, the school has been recognized as national champions by polling organizations on four additional occasions: 1908, 1935, 1936 and 1962.

LSU Men and Women have a combined 64 national championships as of spring 2007. That is, by far, the most by an SEC school.

Purdue has won 1 National Championship (1939). although Purdue makes no claim regarding national championships, despite the listing of a national championship for that school in the Official NCAA Football Records Book

Villanova is the only school to have won the NCAA Division I Football Championship (2009) and the NCAA Division I Basketball Championship (1985).Florida in 2006 is it. Michigan State University 1950 and 60's in football. '79 and '00 for basketball.MichiganMichigan StateOhio Statelet's not forget UCLA, Florida and Maryland.Don't forget the Razorbacks of Arkansas - football 1964 (unfairly split with Alabama), basketball 1994UCLA's football championship was shared with Ohio State in 1954, so that response a little iffy. One school you've left out; in fact, the only private university to win both football & men's basketball championships-> Syracuse (football- 1959;men's basketball- 2003)California also has won both and, if you accept shared football championships, Stanford too (another private university).

USC Trojans have 26 National Championships in Mens Track and Field.

The Pine Bluff High School Zebras have 21 State Championships in Football.

Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.