What state did the Mormon pioneers name Deseret which is Mormon for honey bee?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2012-03-20 17:23:12
2012-03-20 17:23:12

The state of Deseret, proposed by Mormon pioneers, covered much the area that is now Utah, Idaho, Wyoming, Colorado, Nevada, and Arizona.

"Mormon" is not a language, so deseret is not 'Mormon' for honeybee. Deseret is one of the few non-English words found in the Book of Mormon, where it is defined as honeybee.

User Avatar

Related Questions

The word 'Deseret' is defined by the Book of Mormon as honeybee. (See Ether 2:3) Deseret was the name of a territory or state proposed by the Mormon pioneers, which covered parts of modern day Utah, Idaho, Wyoming, Colorado, New Mexico, Arizona, Nevada, and California. In pioneer times, the word Deseret was almost used synonymously with the word Zion - it was the home of the Saints. Deseret was also used to name things of Mormon origin, such as the Deseret Alphabet or the Deseret News. Today, Deseret is still used in the names of companies or organizations affiliated with the Mormon Church, including Deseret Book, Deseret Industries, Deseret News, and Deseret Transportation.

Nine western states had portions of their state in the Mormon Provisional State of Deseret. Washington and Montana were not. Therefore 41 states were not part of the Provisional State of Deseret.

'Deseret' is what the original Mormon Pioneers named the area around what is now called "Utah". The federal government changed the name to Utah when they applied to become a state. It was not a city. The capital city of Deseret was Great Salt Lake City, which is now called Salt Lake City.

None. Members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (the "Mormon" church) don't have their own language, so they don't have a word for beehive. The word "Deseret" is found in the Book of Mormon in Ether 2:3 defined as an ancient word meaning "Honeybee". No state is named "Deseret". The Mormon pioneers proposed giving that name to what is now Utah, but the US Government named it Utah after the Ute Indians who live there. Utah is nicknamed the "Beehive State", because the beehive is symbolic of the thrift and industry that the original settlers of the state had to practice in order to survive.

As an official state, it was always named Utah! But when the Mormon pioneers originally applied for statehood, the land area was much larger (covering parts of Idaho, Nevada, Wyoming, Colorado, and Arizona) and called "Deseret", which means honeybee.

Utah was named after the Ute tribe of native americans who resided near the areas where the original Mormon pioneers settled. Utah was a second choice after the pioneer's first choice "Deseret" was rejected by the federal goverment

Most pioneers set off on the Mormon trail from either Illinois or Missouri.

Mormon leaders suggested a state named Deseret that would cut into large portions of all the states that surround Utah.

Mormon pioneers settled in the great state of Utah.

Utah is named for the Ute Native American tribe that is native to the area. The Mormon Pioneers originally wanted to name the state "Deseret" which means honeybee, but government officials decided to name it "Utah" instead, which means "the top of the mountain" in the Ute language.

No. The Mormon pioneers established many cities, towns, and settlements in the 1800's, mostly in the western US. They proposed a state called Deseret which was cut in half and renamed Utah by the United States government.

When Mormon Pioneers were prosecuted and pushed to the west they settled the great state of Utah.

The state of Deseret is associated with Salt Lake City, Utah. In 1849, Mormons proposed the state of Deseret but, it was never officially recognized by the U.S. government.

Utah is named after the Ute Native American tribe which is native to the area. The Mormon pioneers originally wanted to name the state "Deseret" (which means honeybee), but government officials decided on "Utah" instead. Utah is said to mean "the top of the mountain" in the Ute language.

There isn't really a such thing as a Mormon State... Most cities and towns in Utah were settled by Mormon pioneers and today about half of the population of Utah are practicing Mormons. About 10% of all Mormons live in Utah.

It depends on the group or time period. The first Mormon pioneers left from Nauvoo, Illinois, but later groups left from Missouri or Iowa.

The Mormons proposed the state of Deseret, a large state covering modern day Utah and parts of Idaho, Wyoming, Colorado, Arizona, and Nevada. The federal government rejected their proposal and made the current state boundaries.

The proposed State of Deseret covered Utah, Idaho, California, Oregon, Nevada, Arizona, New Mexico, Colorado, and Wyoming. Check out the "Related Links" to see a map of Deseret overlaying the modern state boundaries.

Nephi is a city in Utah, named by the Mormon pioneers in reference to the Book of Mormon prophet Nephi. In the Book of Mormon there is also a land (city/state) called Nephi, presumed by most modern believers to have been located somewhere in ancient South or Central America.

Mormon Island State Recreation Area is the correct name for this park located in Nebraska. The park is where I-80 and Highways 34/281 cross near Doniphan, Neb. This place was a resting place for the Mormon pioneers as they traveled along the Platte River towards Utah.

The Mormon pioneers first reached the Salt Lake Valley on July 24, 1847. Utah was not a state or territory at the time, the land was actually part of Mexico.

Mormon pioneers settled many cities in the western and midwestern United States. The federal government drew the state boundaries and named the states.

Salt Lake City, Utah. The church actually wanted to call the state "Deseret" instead of Utah.

No city was originally called Deseret, the state of Utah was once called Deseret (before it became an official U.S. Territory). The area that 'Deseret' took up was much larger than the area that Utah takes up now.

Salt Lake City, Utah also served as the capital of the Territory of Deseret. At that time it was called "Great Salt Lake City". When Utah first became a state, the capital was Fillmore. Later on, the capital was moved back to Salt Lake City.

Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.