What type of gelatin is used in dare cookies?
The gelatin used in dare cookies is derived from pork.
You heard that if the packaging does not say beef pork gelatin then the food product is not haram Is there any truth in this?
It depends on the country, but generally, no. If the type of gelatin is not specified on the list of ingredients, it is usually pork-derived, which would make the gelatin-containing-product haram. If the gelatin used is halal beef gelatin (as opposed to haram beef gelatin - which can come from an improperly slaughtered cow) or is vegetarian gelatin, the product will indicate as much.
Gelatin is typically made from pork (skin/bones), therefore it is considered a protein. Vegans do not consume gelatin because of this. Other stabilizers such as agar (a thickener made from seaweed), tapioca, rice and potato starches can be used in some of the same applications as gelatin, but adjustments as to the amount and type of stabilizer used (as well as in what food application) should be made.