What was Delaware's first capital?

New Castle was the capital of the colonial government in Delaware. The capital was moved from New Castle to Dover in 1777. During the period 1779 - 1781 the colonial government met in Wilmington, Lewes, Dover, and New Castle. In October 1781 the capital was permanently moved to Dover. Delaware became a U.S. state on December 7, 1787 with Dover as the capital city.