answersLogoWhite
Law & Legal Issues
Emancipation and Ages for Moving Out
North Carolina

What would you need in order to get emancipated in North Carolina if you are 17 with a child?

Be the first to answer!


Still Have Questions?

Related Questions

How old you have to be in order to emancipated in north carolina?

16 for early emancipation, otherwise 18.


If you have a kid are you considered an adult in the state of North Carolina?

The ability to have a child has no bearing on whether you are an adult. You must be 18 or have been legally emancipated by a court order or marriage.


How do you stop child support order in North Carolina?

Show the court that: the child is deceased; the child has been adopted; the child is emancipated; the child has attained majority; and/or you have no income other than public assistance; and, you do not owe any past-due support.


How do you end child support for an emancipated child in ma?

You should bring proof that the child has been emancipated to the court that issued the child support order and file a motion to terminate the order.You should bring proof that the child has been emancipated to the court that issued the child support order and file a motion to terminate the order.You should bring proof that the child has been emancipated to the court that issued the child support order and file a motion to terminate the order.You should bring proof that the child has been emancipated to the court that issued the child support order and file a motion to terminate the order.


Can a 14-year-old girl be legally emancipated in North Carolina?

No. A minor must be at least 16 in order to petition for emanciption in NC.


What is required for change in child custody in Georgia divorce and custody was in state of North Carolina?

You will have to show significant change in order to change the custody agreement in North Carolina. Even if there are significant changes, it is up to the judge to decide the custody of a child.


Can a 15 year old be emancipated in Iowa?

No a 15 year old can not be emancipated in Iowa. A child must be 16 years old in order to be emancipated in Iowa.


What is the age to get emancipated in North Carolina?

In NC you have to be at least 16 in order to petition the court for emancipation. http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/ByArticle/Chapter_7B/Article_35.html


Can a 17 year old leave in the state of North Carolina?

Only if they have parental permission or they've been emancipated in some manner (ie marriage, court order, etc).


What happens to an emancipated child that is under age in Connecticut?

If they are emancipated, they are no longer considered 'under age.' In order to be emancipated, they have to show that they can take care of themselves and have financial stability.


If your child is receiving unemployment do you have to pay child support for her?

Yes, if there is a support order in place. If so, I suggest that you ask that the order be terminated because it appears that this child is emancipated.


When does a parent's liability end when a child of 17 leaves the home?

When the child turns 18 or when they are emancipated by a court order.


In Texas If You Are 14 And have a child can you be emancipated?

No. A minor has to be at least 16 in order to petition for emancipation in TX. But even after you turn 16, the fact that you have a child will make it MUCH HARDER to get emancipated (for several reasons).


Who found north Carolina?

Answer North and South Carolina basically didn't have a founder /leader. They both used to be one state. It is called North Carolina in order to be distinguished from South Carolina


Is the state of North Carolina law on garnishing wages?

A wage garnishment occurs when a creditor has a government or court order to obtain your debt from wages that are earned from your paycheck. In North Carolina, as in other states, child support, student loans, and unpaid taxes can be collected without a court order.


Can a parent get a restraining order against their child?

NOAnother View: If the child is legally emancipated or of legal adult age in their state, yes they can.


Which states do not garnish wages?

North and South Carolina, Pennsylvania and Texas. The exceptions to wage garnishment in these states are..taxes, child support, Federal student loans, court ordered fines or restitution for debt incurred by a criminal act. According to the North Carolina Department of Labor's website, North Carolina Courts cannot order garnishments for debts other than taxes, child support, and student loans. However, if a court outside of North Carolina orders a garnishment for wages based on a judgment for credit card debt, North Carolina employers must honor the garnishment. Under North Carolina law, an employer may be ordered to withhold wages from an employee and pay them to a creditor for the following types of debts: taxes, student loans, child support, alimony, and payment of ambulance services in certain North Carolina counties. However, the courts of North Carolina are not permitted to order an employer to withhold wages for other types of debts such as car loans, credit card debt, and other personal debt items. While the North Carolina courts are not permitted to garnish wages based on these debts, creditors in other states may be able to get an order of garnishment under their own states' laws. It is not a violation of the North Carolina Wage and Hour Act for an employer to withhold an employee's wages if required to do so by law. If a court from another state issues a valid order under that state's laws requiring an employer to withhold a North Carolina employee's wages for payment of a debt, the employer does not violate the North Carolina Wage and Hour Act by obeying that order.


If Child support was determined for multiple minor children is the amount adjusted as each child is emancipated?

This is not automatic. It has to be set forth in the court order.


If the child's father has never been around can the child refuse visits in IL?

The child may refuse visits if the child is now an adult or emancipated, or if there is no order for visitation.


Do you owe child support for 17 year old if they leave house in ny?

Yes, unless the child is emancipated. Look at your child support order. It typically includes something to the effect of "support shall continue until the child reaches the age of 18, dies, marries, or becomes emancipated."


What number is North Carolina in the order of statehood?

North Carolina became the 12th US State om 21 Npvember 1789.


Does child support end when the child graduates from high school in North Carolina?

In North Carolina, the support obligation ends when the child reaches 18 years of age. If the child is already otherwise emancipated, payments will stop at the time of emancipation. If the child is still in primary or secondary school when he or she reaches the age of 18, support payments will continue until that child graduates or otherwise ceases to attend classes on a regular basis. If the child fails to make satisfactory academic progress towards graduation or reaches the age of 20 - whichever of these comes first, support may also be ordered discontinued. Based on its discretion, the court may order payments to cease at age 18, regardless of graduation date or any other factors.


What are a parent's obligations in New Mexico once a child turns 18?

Child support terminates when the child becomes emancipated, or when the child graduates from high school if the children are emancipated only by age, are under nineteen and are attending high school; and If the parties have a written agreement, the court may order and enforce child support for the maintenance and education after high school of emancipated children. 40-4-7 of the New Mexico Statutes.


At what age does a parent stop paying child support in New Mexico?

Child support terminates when the child becomes emancipated, or when the child graduates from high school if the children are emancipated only by age, are under nineteen and are attending high school; and If the parties have a written agreement, the court may order and enforce child support for the maintenance and education after high school of emancipated children. 40-4-7 of the New Mexico Statutes.


How old do you have to be in the state of Alabama to get emancipated if you have a child and a place to live?

You must be 19, or 18 with a court order in Alabama.


Still have questions?