History, Politics & Society
Nobel Prize
Alfred Nobel
Nobel Prize Winners

What year was Nobel Peace Prize first given?

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
March 27, 2013 2:20PM

The Nobel Prize has been awarded since 1901. The winners of the Nobel Peace Prize in 1901 were Henry Dunant and Frédéric Passy.

See Web Links to the left for more information about the Nobel Prize.

The first Nobel Peace Prize was awarded on December 10, 1901. The Nobel Peace Prize was founded by Alfred Nobel (the inventor of dynamite).
Henry Dunant, founder of the Red Cross, shared the first Nobel Peace Prize in 1901 with Frédéric Passy, a leading international pacifist of the time. In addition to humanitarian efforts and peace movements, the Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded for work in a wide range of fields including advocacy of human rights, mediation of international conflicts, and arms control.