answersLogoWhite

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2011-07-17 02:55:20

Yes, when a hitter fouls a pitched ball, any runner on base is to return to their base without risk of being thrown or tagged out. Often, the runner will put their head down or look in the stands as they return to their base because there is no need to be wary of getting out.

001
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Your Answer

Related Questions


No, when a ball is hit on the ground, the runners must try and advance to the next base.


If a batted ball hits a runner, the ball is dead. The runner is out and any other runners return to the base they started on. The batter must re-bat.


you get fouled and the ball goes to the other team


If a pitched ball hits the batter, it is dead, and all runners must return to their bases.


It is ruled offensive interference, the batter is out, and the ball is dead. Any runners on base must return to the base they last occupied.


That depends. If he was intentionally fouled but the player was going for the ball, than no. If the player was not going for the ball, than yes.



One answer:No - the runners may not advance beyond where they were - or more specifically, where they were about to go - at the time. A batted ball that hits a runner is a "dead ball."Another answer:If, however, the batted ball first touched a defensive player or umpire prior to being touched by the runner, the runner is not out and the ball is live. If the umpire calls interference on the runner, the ball is dead, the batter is awarded first base, and all runners return to the base they last occupied at the beginning of the play (not to the base they were about to go to at the time).


Yes, all runners have to return to the base they were at, at the beginning of the play.----------Above is correct, but if the runner reaches 2B before the pitcher pitches the ball, he would not have to return to 1B to tag up.


When the ball is hit and goes behind the foul lines. The call is usually made after the ball crosses first


Yes the ball is dead, and no the runners cannot advance.


The umpire will call "infield fly, the batter is out." This applies whether or not the ball is actually caught. The runners can return to their bases at no risk to being out. If the do wish, they can choose to try to advance a base, but this is at their own risk.


If it was a hit ball and the ball was stuck in the runners jersey then the runner is out assuming he had the first contact with the ball. If a fielder has the ball stuck in the jersey then the ball is dead and the hitter would be safe at first.


the ball and socket joint is freely move able


No, it is not a ground rule double. If an offensive player other than the batter kicks a batted fair ball out of play, he is out for interference, the ball is dead, the batter is awarded first base, and all runners return to the base they occupied at the time of the pitch. Note: the umpire may also call the batter out, at the umpire's discretion. If the batter kicks a batted fair ball out of play, he is out for interference, the ball is dead, and all runners return to the base they occupied at the time of the pitch. If any offensive player kicks a batted foul ball out of play, the ball is dead, and it is up to the umpire's discretion as to whether the ball is foul or whether the player or batter is out for interference and which bases the runners and batter are awarded. If a defensive player kicks a pitched ball out of play, the ball is dead, and all runners, including the batter if the pitch was ball four, are awarded one or two bases from the base they occupied at the time the ball was kicked (see MLB rule 7.05 for whether one or two bases). If a defensive player kicks a batted foul ball out of play, it is a foul ball. If a defensive player kicks a batted fair ball out of play, the batter is awarded second base, and all runners are awarded two bases from the base they occupied at the time of the pitch. If a defensive player kicks a ball out of play which has already been touched by another defensive player, all runners including the batter advance two bases from the base they occupied at the time the ball was kicked.


Yes. If the first baseman tags out the batter on his way to first, the three existing runners can return to their original bases; none can be "forced out."


If the base or runners are tagged with the ball while 2 runners are on the same base, the following runner is out.


Yes, this is covered by MLB rule 5.09(a): "The ball becomes dead and runners advance one base, or return to their bases, without liability to be put out, when -- (a) A pitched ball touches a batter, or his clothing, while in his legal batting position; runners, if forced, advance"


If you are referring to runners already on base, then that runner is considered out because of interference with the ball that was in play.Clarification:Above answer refers to a batted ball that was not touched by a defensive player first. In a situation where a thrown ball or a deflected ball gets stuck in a offensive player's (runner's) jersey then it is a dead ball. The runners will get to advance to the base they are going to and then the play is over


Yes. Runners may tag up and attempt to advance on any fly ball, fair or foul.


nowhere. however, some youth leagues don't allow runners to advance on overthrows or once the ball is in the infield.


if you did leave the ball after you get fouled...then you get 2 free throws...if you hold onto the ball...you don't get any....you just get to pass it to your team mates from outside


If a baserunner is in foul ground and is hit by a batted ball, the ball is declared foul and all runners return to their previously occupied base, regardless of whether or not the runner that was hit was standing on the base.


In the event of a batted ball being hit on the fly and was caught by an Infielder or Outfielder on the fly before it hit the ground, it will be ruled as a Fly Out and in the event of there being no outs, one out or two outs and in the event of there being runners on base, runners will have to return to their original bases prior to the pitched ball before they can advance to the next base.


If it is a batted ball, the batter and all runners are awarded 3 bases. If it is a thrown ball, the batter and all runners are awarded 2 bases from whatever base they had occupied when the ball was thrown.



Copyright ยฉ 2021 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.